On Abundance

abundanceI spent a happy hour this morning wandering from stall to stall at the local farmers’ market, revelling in the abundance on display. At one stall, there are huge bunches of purple kale, bags filled with peppery arugula, and baskets full of Spanish onions and glossy red peppers.  At another, I find fragrant bouquets of basil and cilantro, and fresh young bulbs of garlic, still tinged with pink. Some stalls display baskets of  heirloom tomatoes, in shades from pale yellow to deep purple. Other stalls display oddly shaped late-summer squash, glowing deep shades of gold. And today, the first chanterelle mushrooms of the season, a sure sign that autumn is on its way.

abundance4I wander from stall to stall, breathing in the earth-fresh aromas of fresh produce and glorying in the beauty and abundance on display. I fill my bag slowly, choosing my tomatoes at one stall, my basil at another, and making sure that I stop to buy my arugula and peppers from the tousle-headed little boy who helps at his parents’ stall. He can’t be more than eight or nine, but he is responsible for weighing my produce, calculating the cost of each item, and adding up my total. Even if the arugula wasn’t so divine, I’d still buy something there.

abundance3I am tempted by everything I see: the just-picked beets and carrots, the fresh lettuce and chard, the enormous flat beans, an heirloom variety I haven’t seen anywhere else. Every stall for me is an exercise in discipline. I save for last my visit to the bread stall,  choosing a chewy loaf of rosemary-flecked focaccia and  a rounded loaf of multigrain that makes the perfect piece of toast. If these loaves last until tomorrow, it will be a surprise.

abundance2As I make my way around the little market, as I slow down and appreciate the sensuous displays of local produce and baked goods, I am filled with my own sense of abundance, a deep appreciation for this day and for my community. I am at peace, and filled with a quiet sense of joy.

***

What brings you a quiet sense of joy?

About Deliberately Delicious

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Juicy Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On Abundance

  1. El Guapo says:

    There is nothing, nothing like farm fresh food bursting with ripeness!
    Enjoy the resulting meals!

  2. kp says:

    Hi Sally…well you’ve got me right there beside you at the market, feeling the sun on my face, smelling the herbs, and drooling over the bread!! Fall really is a glorious time of year!!! Here, the hot humid weather has broken and we are basking in cool fresh air. It is a delight! Enjoy. Kim

    • It sounds wonderful! The sun was back today, but we’ve had a week of fog and rain which makes me a little sad, knowing the wet days of fall and winter are coming soon. (We are so Canadian, talking about the weather!)

  3. kingmidget says:

    Nice post. A great reminder to slow down and enjoy.

  4. Oh, wow. This produce looks absolutely divine – gorgeous photos. That would definitely inspire me to cook! :)

  5. Pingback: On Appreciation | Deliberately Delicious

I'd love to hear what you think!

