Arbutus Musings

It’sarbutus raining in Victoria today, a persistent grey drizzle, a typical west coast winter day. Though I am happiest when the sun is shining, I don’t mind the rain. I love the tap tapping of rain on my skylights, and the dreamy, impressionistic glaze on wet windows. And once I convince myself to get out, I like walking in the rain.  Sound is muted. Everything is greener; everything seems more lush.

Today I was stopped in my tracks by a single arbutus tree. I’ve always loved arbutus, the way their strong limbs twist skyward, finding the sun; the way the cinnamon bark peels away revealing smooth expanses of wood beneath, in mottled shades of green and rust; the way the trees sport dead branches and bright new growth, at once dying and finding renewal.  Today’s arbutus, shining in the rain, stopped me, the cinnamon peel a deeper shade of rust, the new bark beneath, a brighter shade of green, the leaves darker and glossier.

I stood and admired the tree, ran my hands over the smooth green trunk, resisted the temptation to pull away the flaking copper arbutuslayers, bright as pennies. All in due course. The bark will curl away when it’s meant to. There is beauty in the contrast: rough and smooth, old and new, pale and dark. There is beauty in the tree’s becoming.

I feel like I’m shedding old bark these days too, letting go of what I no longer need, and finding my own sense of renewal.  After months away, I am ready again to write. After a much longer period, I’ve rediscovered my deep love of fiction, and have been devouring works by Barbara Kingsolver and Salman Rushdie and Vincent Lam. And I’ve been quietly learning how to be part of a couple again, a transition that’s been surprisingly difficult for me.

The arbutus has much to teach me. I’m learning about staying strong, about reaching for the light, about shedding the old, about finding continuing renewal.  I’m learning.

 

About Deliberately Delicious

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Juicy Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Arbutus Musings

  1. Gunta says:

    Mmmm… love Kingsolver, too!

  2. Jerry says:

    A blinding return to blogging and what a wonderful allegory the arbutus is for your own new beginning. Isn’t this a wonderful story to start the New Year with, after all Christmas must occupy the pagan bookmark for a celebration of new birth and new beginnings. Looking forward to what theme and direction your blogs will be taking.

    • Thank you, Jerry. I’ve always been drawn to the arbutus. They are such interesting trees. (Another fun fact: they only grow within 8 km of the ocean).

      On another note, I’m so pleased to see that you are writing again too!

  3. nice to see you again. :)

  4. kingmidget says:

    Glad to have you back and what’s that little nugget about … being part of a couple again?

    • Happy New Year to you! It’s lovely to see you here! Yes…I thought I could just quietly slip that part about the couple in without anyone really noticing. Apparently not! The Australian is back in the picture and has been for some time. One thing I’ve learned is that it’s all well and good to write about my dates, but it’s something else to write about somebody I’m involved with. And so, on to new themes…

      • kingmidget says:

        You have the right to keep it all private, probably better that way. So, I welcome the new themes.

  5. El Guapo says:

    Enjoy your renewal. Looking forward to hearing about what emerges!

  6. Marianne says:

    Hello Sally and a very Happy New Year to you. I’m glad you’re back … I’ve missed you :)

  7. What a delightful and welcome surprise, Sally! After reading your eloquent post I realize more than ever what we have been missing. )B

I'd love to hear what you think!

