On Appreciation

windowThy sky is overcast today, dark with storm clouds. The cedars and ferns are heavy, rain-soaked after the morning downpour. From my kitchen window, I look out upon dark forest, a scene that in mid-winter is almost foreboding, the trees seeming to close in about the house. But there is beauty in the shaggy majesty of the cedars, in the bright emerald flash of the ferns, in the soft green expanse of moss that serves all winter as lawn. It is a view that, when I stop and actually pay attention, leaves me feeling deeply fortunate to live where I do, on an island at the edge of the Pacific, in amongst the trees.

One of the great gifts for me in blogging is the way that writing about my life brings the every day into sharp focus. When I’m blogging, I see how rich my life is, how very, very delicious.  And so for the coming months, I’m going to blog about the elements of a delicious life, a life that feels abundant and satisfying. Last year, I dated my way through the alphabet. This year, I’ll write “The Alphabet of Delicious.”

A is for Abundance and Acceptance, and A is also for Appreciation. When I slow down and pay attention, I feel a deep sense of appreciation for the great good fortune in my life. I am so fortunate to live in this beautiful corner of the world, to be connected to a warm and supportive community, to be loved and supported by family, good friends and a good man. There is so much in my life for which to feel appreciative. And blogging is one of the most effective ways to keep focused on all that is good and right in my world.

What makes you feel deeply appreciative?

About Deliberately Delicious

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Juicy Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to On Appreciation

  1. kingmidget says:

    This is a most incredibly and beautiful post and it helps keep me focused on my plans for achieving something similar. Only a few more years and I’ll be “retired,” my kids will be gone, and I’ll have an opportunity to live somewhere I want, doing the things I want — along the coast, in the midst of trees, with a view of the beach and the ocean. Living within nature’s beauty rather than having to drive to it. Thank you for this. Thank you.

  2. I’m thankful for the truly good people whom I’ve met through blogging. And I’m looking forward to your Alphabet of Delicious!

  3. Marianne says:

    I think I’m most grateful for the simple pleasures of life. We all have them, but sometimes overlook the obvious.

  4. appreciating every day and every good moment.. even the bad. here’s to the start of a delicious new alphabet.

    • One of the things I love about your blog is that you see and record the good – and the humorous- in the every day.
      And thank you for making the suggestion to write an alphabet of the delicious in the first place!

  5. El Guapo says:

    I’m appreciative f my wife. And good music. And humor.

    And of course, for getting to read posts like this.

  6. Denise Hisey says:

    When I slow down, I’m more appreciative too :-)

  7. amb says:

    I loved this !!! Fabulous perspective, and something I need to be reminded of, once in a while :)

    • Thanks, Amb. I think it’s too easy for us to get swept up in our busy lives or hooked into comparing ourselves to others. One of the gifts of blogging for me is that I’m more likely to focus on what is right with the world.

  8. karenflello says:

    Beautifully said – and a wonderful new way to work through the alphabet. Thank you for the gentle (and lovely) reminder!

  9. Jerry says:

    wow Sally you really are back with a bang. I love the new theme and the way that it ties into being Deliberately Delicious

I'd love to hear what you think!

