On Beauty

tulipThe field is a riot of colour, tulips in shades of red and yellow and bright pink, lines of them curving away into the distance.  I kneel in the mud, intent on capturing the raindrops glistening on a single flower, the delicate frilled edges of the petals, the dark heart of the bloom. I am immersed in the process and filled with that deep sense of joy that comes when I am creating, when I am celebrating the beauty of the world around me.

tulip fieldI’ve spent the day at a workshop on composition. Designed for painters, the workshop focuses on the elements of composition, elements that are as relevant to photography as to any other visual art form. We spend the morning learning about colour, shape and texture, about repetition and movement, about value and geometry.  They are concepts that I’m vaguely familiar with, but that I haven’t ever applied in a purposeful way to my photographs. All morning I drink in these ideas, thinking about ways I could use them as I compose my photographs. I keep a running list of things I want to experiment with: diagonal lines, negative space, texture and movement. I can hardly wait to experiment with shape.

In the afternoon, we head out with our cameras to put these principles to work. My friend Lilija and I spend a happy couple of hours capturing the beauty in our neighbourhood. We wander through the grounds of St. Stephens Church, delight in the offerings at a roadside flower stand, and tromp through the mud at a local tulip field. Even in the rain, there is beauty all around us.

tulip field

tulipsIt’s so easy for me to drive past a field full of daffodils, a row of cherry trees in full bloom, a tranquil sunset over the water. It’s easy to fleetingly notice the beauty, but then to drive on. Today it feels delicious to slow down, to linger, to truly savour the beauty of a single rain-speckled tulip. And it feels right to be crouched down in the field, taking care to compose a photograph that will fully capture that beauty.

***

Where is the beauty in your life? What most calls to you to be savoured?

About Deliberately Delicious

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Juicy Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to On Beauty

  1. Eloquently beautiful.

  2. El Guapo says:

    Right now, I’m sitting calm moments in a warm breeze.

    Good to see you!

  3. Heartafire says:

    a lovely post, thank you!

  4. kp says:

    Beautiful photos….and great post! I love how photography brings me attention into the world; helps me to see the beauty in the world; even when it is only lines, or contrasts in colours, Kim

  5. For me, it’s always the moon. And it is the one thing that resists being photographed (at least by my humble little camera), which is probably how it should be. But having said that, these photos are stunning! Looking at them, I can see how Van Gogh’s paintings came to life :)

    • Hi Alarna! Yes, the moon has proven equally uncooperative for me too, and particularly elusive: the moon glittering on water. But perhaps there are some things meant for memory alone.

      Lovely to see you!

I'd love to hear what you think!

