G is for Griff (again…)

Hi Griff,

Thank you for your texts. I have never for a second doubted that you loved me and appreciated me; I know that you worked at our relationship every single day that we were together. I’ve never doubted that you loved me still the day we broke up. There is a part of me that will always love you for that amazing gift.

It’s time now, though, for you to let me go. I want to move forward in my life, but the texts and phone calls and the heartfelt conversations are making it really hard for me to do so.

I want you to be able to move on too. You can’t develop a truly intimate relationship with someone else when we’re still this emotionally connected.

You were such a gift to me. Our time together was a wonderful and unforgettable season in my life.  And I really hope that we can find our way to being long-term friends. I would hate to lose contact with someone who played such an important role in my life. But I definitely need some “friend” boundaries with you at this point.

I know, I know. I’m being way too black and white here, and this all just proves that you are way less black and white and way more flexible than I gave you credit for…  I’m okay with being wrong this time.

But let’s try a bit of black and white friendship stuff and see if we can make it work.

Hope you got some good top-down sunshine in that little red convertible this weekend!

Love,

Sally

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you think!

