J is for John

Letter to John Herschel, p. 4

Letter to John Herschel, p. 4 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“You know how much I enjoy your blog and writing.  If I do end up in there, perhaps I could be John.  I’ve never received a Dear John letter…”

E.

***

Dear John,

It is with infinite sadness that I accept your withdrawal from the Sally Suitor Competition. Every now and again a man comes along who I know is absolute top quality material: he is strong, confident, and secure in himself; professionally, he is good at what he does without letting it take over his entire life; he is kind and funny and smart; he pursues his outside interests with passion. You’re all that, John, and more.

I know that you would be an amazing partner. And if I could will myself to fall in love with you, I would have done so already. I know that you would do everything in your power to love me every day of your life.

My heart, I’m afraid, is a capricious creature. It doesn’t always listen to what my head has to say. But if there’s one thing that I’ve learned in the last few years, it’s that I have to listen to both my head and my heart.

Perhaps my heart hasn’t yet healed enough to love again. Perhaps I haven’t yet found the right person. I’m not sure about very much at the moment. But I do know that I feel far more comfortable with you as friend rather than suitor.

John, I really hope that you have not felt as though I’ve been leading you on, or keeping you as part of a “collection” of men. I think I’ve tried, right from the beginning, to be honest and open about where I’m at and what I’m feeling. You sounded hurt in your email today; I never wanted to hurt you.

I would very much like to cultivate a friendship with you. I thoroughly enjoy your company and would like to continue getting to know you.

I have loved reading your responses to my blog. It has been such a rich dialogue, and so interesting to have a man’s perspective. I have an “H” and an “I” letter underway. “J is for John” will be for you. (I’m crying as I write this).

Talk to you soon.

Sally

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to J is for John

  1. Pingback: The End is Nigh | Deliberately Delicious

I'd love to hear what you think!

