On Versatility

Today has been a good day. I woke up to the sound of fog horns, one of my favourite sounds in the world; I had a totally relaxing morning, with a latte and the paper at my favourite coffee shop; and best of all, Rose, over at But I’m Beautiful, nominated me for the Versatile Blogger award! I discovered Rose shortly after I started blogging. You’d think with a name like Rose, that she’d be sweet and demure. You’d be wrong about that.  But she is funny, frank and honest, and I look forward to every new post, whether it’s an update on her year-long quest to improve her karma, or a story about taking her friend Captain Savage to the clubs, and challenging him to pick up women. Thank you, Rose!

English: A red rose with dewdrops Français : U...

English: A red rose with dewdrops Français : Une rose rouge avec des gouttes de rosée (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So after consulting the rules at The Versatile Blogger Award, I understand that I am to share seven random facts about myself, and to select a number of other bloggers who I follow or who I have recently discovered. Since I share random facts about myself here every day, I’m going to follow Rose’s lead and give you seven alternate lives I might lead if I weren’t the single mother of three boys, living in Victoria, and teaching for a living.

1. I would live in a faded, waterfront cottage on Hornby Island, and spend my days wandering the beaches and collecting sand dollars, and my evenings writing award-winning poetry collections.

2. I’d be a high-powered trial lawyer right here in Victoria. My closet would be filled with high end suits and an impressive collection of Manolo Blahniks. I’d drive one of those little convertible audis.

3. I would escape to the southern coast of Turkey, where I would live on a boat, and take tourists out on day trips to hidden coves and pristine, white sand beaches. I would have an impressive collection of bikinis and a beautiful tan.

4. I’d be a National Geographic Explorer in Residence, and visit the Tibetan monks who live high in the mountains and spend years in isolation meditating. I’d travel light, with just a journal, a powerful camera, and an iPad.

A gin martini, with olive, in a cocktail glass.

A gin martini, with olive, in a cocktail glass. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5. I’d be a Bond Girl. I’m not really sure what a Bond Girl does, except drink martinis, and look fabulous in high heels and shimmery dresses. But I could be good at that.

6. I’d be the anchorwoman for The National on CBC (move over, Peter Mansbridge! Those Diva Lights are mine!)

7. I’d run a bed and breakfast on Chesterman beach in Tofino. I’d spend my days walking the beach, gazing out towards Japan, and dreaming up ideas for the next great Canadian novel.

And now on to some of my favourite blogs:

1. Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride deserves a nomination, not just because her writing is so entertaining, but also because she hosts the most fantastic blog parties, where she invites bloggers to come to her house, have a few drinks, and spend some time getting to know one another. It’s the most fun you can have sitting at your computer in your jammies!

2. I am in awe of Katie is a Teacher, who somehow manages to teach high school English, post regular restaurant reviews and hilarious student quotes, and report out on her quest to read 100 books in 100 days. I don’t think Katie ever sleeps.

Rose et amour....rosa y amor ....rose d'amour ...

Rose et amour....rosa y amor ....rose d'amour ..rosa de amor.. // Explore (Photo credit: photosylvia / silabox...occupée)

3. I’ve just discovered Truth and Cake, and I love it because the writing is honest, reflective and insightful and the photos are arresting. Plus, Rian, who is an American girl living in Vancouver, might be the most photogenic blogger ever.

4. Life in the Dash Lane is a fabulous blog, written by Lee, a fellow Canadian, who is thriving in her life despite surviving divorce and cancer . I love this blog! It’s worth checking out just for the post on “Volvo Relationships” as opposed to “Ferrari Relationships.”

5. Depending on the day, the writing at The Forgotten Wife might be political, bitter, deeply personal, and/or hysterically funny. Check out one of my favourite recent posts, “It’s a Vagina, Mr. Speaker.”

6. I’ve been looking for bloggers who write the kind of poetry I most appreciate, the kind that is vivid, contained, and most importantly, doesn’t rhyme! The poems at Maxadaland are polished gems.

7. I’ve also recently discovered Blessed with a Star on her Forehead. I love the perspective this newly single woman in her forties brings to life, love and personal healing.

8. Whenever I feel like I’m sharing “Too Much Information”, I just head over to The Online Dating Journal to remind myself how vanilla my posts really are. Check out this girl’s sexual fantasy poems! I wish I had her balls!

9. There are few things I admire more than the courage to be completely honest. That’s why I love Bare Your Naked Truth.

10.You might not know this, but Rose over at But I’m Beautiful has a second blog called An Etiquette Guide for Sluts. As far as I’m concerned, it’s worth following simply for the title. Granted, some of her poems there rhyme, but it’s okay to post rhyming poetry if it’s humourous or satirical. It’s just not okay if it’s about love. Really. Check out her most recent posting, a little bit of erotica to brighten your day! (It’s not a poem. It doesn’t rhyme. It’s hard to find a rhyme for blow job).

11. While I was commenting on Rose’s Blow Job Narrative, I came across another writer who apparently appreciated her work for its literary qualities. Intrigued, I investigated, and found Word Play, a blog with thoughtful, well written and often funny reflections – by a man! (That sounds terrible. I’m not suggesting that men can’t write thoughtfully. It’s just that my tendency has been to follow women bloggers. That’s about to change!) I’m looking forward to following Word Play!

12. And I’m also enjoying Oh I do Blather On, Don’t I. Her post about how internet dating is like shopping for a dress had me laughing out loud!

Okay, I know that I’m supposed to name 15 blogs, but can we bend the rules here a little bit? I promise that every one of these bloggers is worth following!

Thank you Rose, both for your vote of confidence, and for your inspiration!

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Sally

Seeking dark coffee and milk chocolate. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us. Learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to On Versatility

  1. babedarla says:

    Oh, I’m so glad to be mentioned in your’ list of blogs you read! My first ever pingback! Rose is awesome, isn’t, and her blogs are so much fun to read…and now you’ve given me OTHER blogs to check out, including your own! Thanks!

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination! I truly appreciate it!!

  3. Dear Sally,

    I noticed that you are following my blog & came here to say thank you! Imagine my surprise when I noticed my blog on your nomination list. Thank you for the nomination! Congratulations on your award! Since I’ve already received this award, please pay it forward and nominate another blogger.

    I will include a link to this post in JUNE NEWS – http://bareyournakedtruth.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/june-news/ – so my readers can check out your blog and the nominations.

    I’m following you & look forward to reading more of your posts!

  4. Pingback: JUNE NEWS « bareyournakedtruth

  5. How fun is this! Thank you, Sally. I’m grateful for your mention of Maxadaland on your favorite blogs list, and congratulations on your certainly deserved award. About your alternate lives…you’ve gone there already in your imagination…that’s good too.

  6. Brigitte says:

    Oh my, I LOVE your list. Especially the Manolo Blahniks, the convertible Audi and the Bond Girl stuff. Loved the writing! Great stuff here, just great. :).

  7. Priscilla says:

    Thank you sweetie!

  8. Katie says:

    Thank you so much for mentioning me!! I appreciate it immensely!

    PS: I do sleep, I promise! I love to quote Bikram Choudhury who says “you don’t have insomnia, you just have more time to do the things you enjoy.”

    • Sally says:

      I just can’t imagine how you’ll keep yourself busy once summer holidays start and you finish up those hundred books… The restaurants of Calgary will really be in trouble!

  9. Rose says:

    Thanks Shine! I notice that beaches and bikinis feature a lot in your would-be lives – maybe they should feature more in your actual life!! xoxo rose

    • Sally says:

      Yes, good point… I actually spend a fair bit of time on beaches, especially in the summer (I live on an island, so they’re easy to find). Bikinis not so much…

I'd love to hear what you think!

