Q is or Quinn

Hello Quinn,

Thank you for your lovely note.  I’ve never had such a gracious “No Thanks” in my life! I’d been planning to write something along the same lines to you, but hadn’t yet found the words. I’m glad that I stalled, because your note was such a pleasure to receive. Honestly, I wish every man on Plenty of Fish had to take a course from you on good grace and good manners.

You’re absolutely right that you are too unconventional for me. No matter what else, there is an important part of my life that is suburban soccer mom, and that’s not going to change any time soon.  Much as I’d love to give free rein to my free spirit, there are responsibilities in my life that I take very seriously.

That being said, I really enjoyed our playful email correspondence and our two meetings. It’s not often that a man can write circles around me, but your wit and intelligence shone through in every email. I couldn’t wait to read them. And it’s not often that I feel intellectually out of my depth, but I’ll admit to my moments with you. (Yes, you really did use “hegemony” in our first conversation! And yes, men that smart totally turn me on!)

You are an attractive, funny and blindingly intelligent man, Quinn, and there are women out there (like me) who find that a devastating combination. I hope that the right woman arrives soon in your life.

With respect and affection, I remain,

The Girl in the Black Dress

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Q is or Quinn

  1. As someone who longs to date someone who can use the word “hegemony” in casual conversation (swoon!), I sympathize with your letting this one go. Good fish, but not the fish for you.

  2. Rose says:

    Wow, can I have Quinn?

I'd love to hear what you think!

