In Praise of Summer Holidays

As of noon today, I will be officially on summer holidays! I can’t wait! Ahead of me lies one full, uninterrupted month to relax, to enjoy the sunshine, and to recharge. I know that there are some people out there who are happy with shorter holidays, but I’m not one of those people. I adore a long, restful break, especially during the summertime.

I come by it honestly. My parents were both teachers, and so summers were long and lazy. We didn’t usually go very far, but we spent lots of time camping and exploring British Columbia. Once I grew up, I carried on the summer holiday tradition, and my ex-husband and I had some great adventures together: travelling overland through East Africa one year, exploring the southern coast of Turkey another, and one year, taking our kids to the UK and the south of France. But my very favourite summer memories are of taking the kids on long camping road trips through the Okanagan and the Kootenays. One year, we spent a month exploring the southern Gulf Islands and the Sunshine Coast. We took 17 ferry trips that summer.

And so what’s on the agenda for this summer holiday? As soon as I finish work, the kids and I are heading off on our first camping trip, meeting up with a number of other families for a long weekend. Last year, there were epic, three hour soccer games on the beaches of Parksville. Who knows what memories this year’s trip will bring. But the tents and sleeping bags are packed, and there are grocery bags filled with hot chocolate and marshmallows and junk food cereal. All the regular rules about nutrition and bedtimes are suspended on these weekends, and my kids return home exhausted, but happy.

We have two further camping trips booked, both in places the kids love to return to year after year.

And while the boys are with their dad, I’m heading out sailing again, this time perhaps to explore Saturna Island, and to learn a bit more about how to actually sail. (I think I’ve got the sitting on the deck with a gin and tonic part figured out). And I’m heading out on a kayaking trip through the Broken Islands off the west coast of Vancouver Island. These are both bucket list activities for me. For years I’ve wanted to learn to sail and to spend time exploring in the Gulf Islands. And for years I’ve dreamed of kayaking in the Broken Islands. Camping and sailing and kayaking. It sounds like a just about perfect summer holiday to me!

What summer adventures have you got planned?

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Praise of Summer Holidays

  1. 5 days down the coast to finish my novel – at least, the next draft of it. It requires contact with the sea! But yours looks fantastic! Holiday, I mean. Have a wonderful time!

  2. Pingback: An Evening on Brown Ridge Saturna Island « Creativepotager's Blog

I'd love to hear what you think!

