The Pleasures of Summertime

PedicureI am such a summer girl.  I love the sunshine. I love the beach. I love being on the water. I love lazy summer afternoons. So much of living well, I think, is in appreciating the small pleasures of the every day. Here are some of the things I’m savouring this summer.

Pretty Pedicures: If you didn’t take a moment to appreciate my pedicure in the picture above, please go back and have a second look. Really. I mean it. Check out the daisies on my toes! I love a fresh pedicure, but this one is so playful and summery that I find myself admiring my feet instead of the beautiful Gulf Islands scenery in the background!

Beach SoccerCamping Weekends: Despite my princess tendencies, and my appreciation for pedicures and good shoes, I love waking up in a tent. One of the great pleasures of summer for me is the camping opportunities with my kids. We all look forward to the camping trip we take each summer with a number of other families. This is a tradition of nearly 20 years, and the best part about it is that the now grown children look forward to it as much as my eight year old does. My three boys look forward to spending time with the older kids, laughing around the campfire, and participating in cutthroat games of beach soccer .

HammockHammock Time: Last summer, we bought a hammock, which we hang between two big cedars in the back yard. On a hot summer afternoon, there is nothing like stretching out in the hammock for half an hour and rocking gently in the shade. I had never understood the draw of the hammock before last summer, but now it is one of the small pleasure I look forward to the most.

Gin and Tonic: Nothing says summer to me like an ice-cold gin and tonic, with lots of ice cubes and a generous slice of lime. I drank my first G and T in Malawi nearly 20 years

Gin & tonic

Gin & tonic (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

ago. Malawi is famous for its gin, and of course tonic, which contains quinine, was originally developed for medicinal purposes to fight malaria. At the time, a Malawi gin and tonic seemed like the perfect drink (just for medicinal purposes, you understand). And for me, it still is the perfect summer drink. Its cool, refreshing bitterness never fails to conjure up memories of my summer in Africa, or of the many summers I’ve enjoyed the drink since.

What are the small pleasures of summertime for you?

About Sally

Seeking dark coffee and milk chocolate. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us. Learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pleasures of Summertime

  1. Pingback: Life’s Little Pleasures | afternoonstorm

  2. Looks like you had a lovely time! Love the toenails! My favourite summer thing is being able to ‘get dressed’ by just pulling a dress over my head. Done!

  3. Pingback: The Pleasures of the Flower Stand | Deliberately Delicious

I'd love to hear what you think!

