My Reverse Bucket List

Bucket List“The purpose of life, after all, is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” — Eleanor Roosevelt

I found a great blog recently called Daring to Live Fully. The author has listed 50 things she’s done already in her life, a sort of “Reverse Bucket List.” I love this idea! And it got me thinking about what I’d put on my list. So here, in no particular order, are 50 things I’m glad I’ve done so far in my life:

My Reverse Bucket List

FamilyRaised (well, still raising) three good kids * Woken to the Muezzin’s call to prayer in Istanbul * Watched the sunset at Tsusiat Falls on the West Coast Trail * Attended a writing workshop with Natalie Goldberg * River rafted with the crocodiles on the Zambezi * Presented my father’s eulogy * Completed a Master’s degree * Backpacked across Europe * Canoed the Bowron Lake Circuit * Sipped gin and tonic on a sailboat in the Greek Islands *

Devil" Bridge SedonaRead to my children every night. No matter what * Hiked to the Devil’s Bridge in Sedona * Written a 50,000 word memoir in 30 days * Bathed in the hot springs at Pamukkale * Camped with lions on the Serengeti  * Posed for boudoir photos at 44 * Wandered among the ruins at Ephesus * Eaten gelato on the Spanish Steps in Rome * Hiked in to watch the rapids at Skookumchuck Narrows * Photographed rhino and elephants in the Ngorongoro Crater *

Swum in the azure waters at Olu Deniz * Participated in a documentary about protecting one’s children through divorce * Heli-jetted back and forth to Vancouver in the making of the documentary * Explored the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia * Watched the Royal Shakespeare Company production of King Lear in Stratford-Upon-Avon * Camped with my boys every summer since they were babies * Stood breathless before Monet’s waterlilies paintings in L’Orangerie in Paris * Participated in an all-girls backpacking trip in Strathcona Park *  Hoisted a beer stein at Oktoberfest in Munich * Trained as a personal coach *

Oia SantoriniToured the wineries of the Okanagan * Ate grilled sardines at a beach-side cafe in Nazare, Portugal * Launched a blog * Got up close and personal with a bear at Cape Scott, the northernmost tip of Vancouver Island * Watched the sun rise from the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro * Touched the lives of thousands of kids in my years as a classroom teacher * Explored Oia on Santorini at dawn *  Explored the castles of North Wales with my children * Spent time with my dad, just sitting, holding his hand, and talking, as he was dying * Watched the humpbacks from the beaches of Maui *

Watched the sun rise over Victoria Falls * Enjoyed a delicious summer fling the summer after my marriage ended * Saw Les Miserable and Cats in London * Provided a stable, loving home for my guys in the years after the divorce * Walked the rain-swept beaches of Pacific Rim National Park during storm season * Kayaked in the Broken Group *  Spent a week at Hollyhock Retreat on Cortes Island * Wandered the markets of Provence with my children * Hiked in Gros Morne National Park in Newfoundland * Dared to love deeply and well *

What are some of the things on your reverse bucket list?

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Reverse Bucket List

  1. Seb says:

    I began to think about my reverse bucket list, but then, for some reason. I started to think about Johnny Cash’s reverse bucket list, which was much more interesting and included getting married in a fever, stealing a cadillac one piece at a time, getting into a knife fight with my father on Main St, shooting a man in Reno just to watch him die and being contemptuous as to my significant other’s tastes in hats. It was then I realized I needed to be a lot more like Johnny Cash.

I'd love to hear what you think!

