D is for Dan: A note of appreciation

D is for DanDear Dan,

You wondered aloud the other day what I would say about you when this brief season in our lives ends and we part ways.

It’s funny that I haven’t told you. But here, for the record, are a few of the things I appreciate the most about you:

1. You are reliable. You keep your commitments to me and to the other people in your life. I know that if you commit to something with me, that I can absolutely count on you, whether it’s a small thing, like arriving when you say you will, or something big, like setting aside a weekend to get away on the sailboat. You truly are a man of your word.

2. You are so open with me. I appreciate your honesty and your candor, and the fact that you are brave enough to let your guard down around me. I’m surprised by how intimate our conversations can be. It makes me happy that you’re comfortable enough with me to be yourself.ย  To just be.

3. You really know how to seize the day. I love that you take every opportunity you can to spend time on your boat, or to do the other things in your life that you enjoy. You appreciate the little things, and you recognize and appreciate your own good fortune.

4. You are open to growth and change in your life. I admire that you strive to improve yourself, and that you are working to break the habits in your life that don’t serve you.

5. You inspire me in the way you live life “on purpose.” I like that you have such a clear vision of the person you want to be, and I admire that you pursue your passions, whether sailing, or hiking, or traveling, or seeing live music.ย  That compass tattoo on your calf is the perfect symbol for you.

You’re a good man, Dan.

Always
happy to spend time with you,

Sally

Related Posts

The Wind in My Sails

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to D is for Dan: A note of appreciation

  1. This really is so beautiful and has given me hope. I get you completely on the reliability thing. So important to stick to your word no matter how small. This really has inspired me. I am writing a book called Mr Wrong to inspire and empower women by exploring why we keep attracting negative men abs relationships into our lives. I would also liov e to have some success stories to inspire and give women hope that there are some really good men out there. Please could you share this beautiful blog on my Success Story page. I would also,love to ask your permission to contribute this to my book. You can email,me at dingdongitsmrwrong@yahhoo.co.uk for more information. Meanwhile, here us the site

    dingdongitsmrwrong.WordPress.com ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! The irony here is that I’ve let go this summer of the need to find “Mr. Right,” and am just enjoying “Dan’s” company without any expectation that the relationship will last. I can tell you that letting go of expectation has been a powerful thing.

  2. Seb says:

    Huzzah! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You’re so nice about your dates (and relationships). It’s inspiring for a closet bitch such as myself – to be nice about people as well as amusing. Appreciating people is a rare gift.

  4. But you’re such a funny closet bitch, Rose. That’s why I love reading your blog so much!

I'd love to hear what you think!

