The Pleasures of the Flower Stand

“We can train in rejoicing in even the smallest blessings our life holds. It is easy to miss our own good fortune; often happiness comes in ways we don’t even notice.”

Pema Chodron, The Places That Scare You

One of the things I love most about the rural neighbourhood in which I live is the roadside flower stands that appear in early summer. My favourite among them is an umbrella-shaded stand beside an old wooden gate. At this time of year, the faded old gate is festooned in deep purple clematis.

The bunches of flowers, displayed in two straw baskets, are a riot of colour and shade and texture. No two bunches are alike. And whenever I stop to pick up flowers for myself or for a friend, I  linger at the stand, admiring the artistry of each arrangement.

My first impulse is to gather the entire basket and fill my home with armfuls of fresh cut flowers. What luxury!

Flowers

But I can’t have them all. Should I choose the season’s first dahlias, in shades of deep red and wine?

Dahlias

Or perhaps a bunch of cheerful yellow sunflowers?

Sunflowers

Decisions, decisions….

Flowers

There are few things that bring me as much pleasure as a bunch of locally-grown, lovingly arranged flowers from a roadside flower stand.

What are the small blessings and simple pleasures in your life?

Related Posts

The Pleasures of Summertime

The Pleasures of a Tuesday Night

The Pleasures of the Farm Market

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Pleasures of the Flower Stand

  1. Seb says:

    There’s some pleasant childhood memories evoked here.

  2. Jerry Keusch says:

    Aren’t the gifts of Nature a beautiful thing!

  3. amb says:

    I LOVE that photo of the dahlias! I think red and purple is such a gorgeous colour combo, it’s so rich and decadent.

I'd love to hear what you think!

