Honouring my Free Spirit

Sailing

Sailing in the Gulf Islands

In the past two months, I have stayed home on a weekend exactly once. Every other weekend this summer, I’ve been camping or kayaking or sailing. And in August, I was away from home for three weeks out of four. I’ve spent more time pulling clothes out of my trusty, leather overnight bag in the past two months than I have pulling them out of my closet. And that’s exactly the way I like it best.

I like my house, and I enjoy being at home, but if there’s the opportunity to spend time in the outdoors, and especially on the water, then I’ll fly out my front door without a second thought. I’m saying yes to those small weekend adventures that keep coming my way. Actually, I’m saying “Hell Yes!”

Yesterday, I got a text from Dan, who has been sailing in Desolation Sound this week, inviting me to join him this weekend for the last leg of the journey back to Victoria. It took me about 11 seconds to make a decision. Hell yes!

Russell Island

Russell Island

This summer, I’ve been giving my free spirit free reign. Heading into July, I was feeling burdened by the responsibilities of being a working single mother. It was definitely time for me to embrace once again my adventurous spirit and to find ways to incorporate adventure back into my life. Sailing in the Gulf Islands, Kayaking in the Broken Group, camping on Hornby Island – each of these experiences has nourished my soul, filled me up, brought me closer to my elemental self.

Broken Islands

The Broken Islands

And it’s clear that I am most in my element on or near the water. Sailing, or paddling, or floating, or splashing in the waves, I am happy, and utterly at peace.  A fellow sailor told me recently that my name means “Dweller of the Sea.” There’s no surprise in that.

Sailing

Sailing in the Gulf Islands

And so when an invitation comes for one more summer weekend on the sailboat, I’m in, baby! Hell yes, I’m in. I’m saying yes to adventure. Yes to spontaneity. This summer my free spirit is calling the shots.

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Honouring my Free Spirit

  1. Seb says:

    And why not? Life is short. It should be good.

  2. CC MacKenzie says:

    Hello!

    Stunning photos and you’re friend is soooo true, we are a long time dead. ‘Life isn’t a rehearsal’ is another good one my late grandmother used.

  3. Paul Kinder says:

    Enjoy your weekend Sally. My you have an impressive blogging record. Seems like life is fairly well balanced at present 🙂

  4. kp says:

    Wow, sounds like a fabulous summer….and I second the sentiment. My son has just moved out for his 3rd year in college and my daughter is finishing her last term in high school. For the last two years, I have been feeling a lot of grief about the end of this family phase in my life. But recently, I have felt an old self re-awakening; the free spirit who has been constrained by the pressures of work and family life. I have felt excited about the possibilities as the constraints disappear. And, while I know nothing about sailing, and an intimidated by the ocean, I have felt pulled to the waters of Vancouver Island for 30 years. So when I hear about your summer, all I can think is: “Good for you”!! And thanks for the inspiration!!! Kim

    • Such a time of possibility for you! My boys come and go between my house and their father’s, but even still, I can’t quite imagine that point when they’ll be gone for months at a time – or when they’ll actually be out on their own all together. But I can see that there might be a delicious sense of freedom that might come, along with the sadness of seeing them go.

      If the ocean summons you, heed it’s call 🙂

  5. Well done, free spirit! There’s a time for saving and caution and a time for giving way (with SOME caution) to impulses, and you seem to have caught it perfectly!

  6. Pingback: The Kindness of Strangers | Deliberately Delicious

I'd love to hear what you think!

