Let Me Rephrase That

UniverseSo, Universe, let me rephrase this…

I love adventure. Really.

I long for it in my life.

But apparently I haven’t been clear enough about what I mean by adventure.

I’m looking for nice, quiet adventures. Sailing to Saltspring Island and exploring the market. Paddling through the still waters of the Broken Islands.  Travelling to a city I haven’t visited before. Those kinds of adventures.

But motoring into a submerged reef? No thank you. Getting thrown around when the sailboat slams to a complete stop? Not so much. Hanging on as the boat tips perilously before righting itself? Um, no thanks.

WavesAnd those 30 knot winds and huge waves? No thanks to those too.

And really, Universe, since we’re on the topic, I could have done without taking on water while out on the high seas. If I’m honest about it, I could live quite happily without ever having to learn how a bilge pump works. Ever.

I like the idea of floating. Not sinking.

So last weekend’s adventure, Universe? That was a bit extreme for me.

But if you were sending me that kind of adventure anyway, thank you for sending along such an able and calm sailing companion. I don’t think he even swore when we hit the rocks. Or when he realized that there was an inch of water on the cabin floor.
He just calmly talked me through what he needed me to do, and steered the boat toward the safety of a sheltered harbour.

Ford CoveAnd thank you for sending us to Ford Cove on Hornby Island, to the peace of its lovely, sheltered harbour, and to the amazing people living on the boats there. Really this story isn’t so much about a sailing misadventure. It’s about the kindness of strangers.

And I’ll tell that story soon.

About Sally

Seeking dark coffee and milk chocolate. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us. Learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Let Me Rephrase That

  1. The Landy says:

    I look forward to the ongoing story…

  2. Luna says:

    I love adventure also… Check out this hilarious Ecuador adventure. http://atruetalltale.wordpress.com

  3. Paul Kinder says:

    Laugh, I know I shouldn’t, it doesn’t sound like a kind reaction, but I promise it is said with a smile and a twinkle in the eye. Why? One word really…..boats! I’ve been looking at the pictures of your last few posts and comparing them with sailing on the West of Ireland. Yesterday, was the most beautiful day, and coming back in on the boat, there was the most incredible sunset. We very rarely get cruise liners on Galway Bay, but one pulled up anchor and sailed out into the sunset, it was an incredible sight with boat, sky, sea and land bathed in a soft golden light. But, only three weeks ago I got caught out in a squall, I was on my own and it was a challenging experience. The tender I was towing was ripped off by the force of the wind, and I lost a number of sail fittings, before I managed to drop the sail. It was a reminder to never underestimate the sea. So, I’ve been very envious reading your posts, and looking at your pictures, it seemed that you just have the good side of sailing 🙂 Hence, the wry smile at reading your post. It seems boats are pretty much the same everywhere. My advise, give that old sea salt Dan a ring, and tell him how much better the memories of the good sailing days are now, and get back on that boat……soon!

    • You are absolutely permitted to laugh – even at my expense 🙂 I know I’ve had a charmed summer where the sailing is concerned. It’s just been one perfect day (and location) after the next. And I would agree with you, after this latest experience, that boats are the same everywhere, as are the boaters. One of the things that surprised me the most when we limped into the marina on Hornby Island was how incredibly helpful everyone was. Every boater out there has “been there” in one form or another, and they are right there to lend a hand when misfortune strikes somebody else.

      It sounds as though you have a lovely summer sailing memory to store away (as well as a good story about summer squalls!)

      Dan brought his boat back to Sidney a couple of days ago, and by the time he got back, it was late into the evening. He told me that after dark, the wind dropped, and the sea was like glass. As he motored along, his wake glittered with bioluminescence, lookeing back toward Saltspring Island, he saw it was bathed in the light of Aurora Borealis. I would have loved to have been there! After the last few days he’s had, I was so pleased for him that he got to have such an awe-inspiring end to the journey.

      (Should he invite me back out, I’ll be back on the boat in a flash!)

  4. Yes, I’m more of a canoe paddler, myself, than a hard core (or a speed boat) sailor! Sorry to hear it was a bit of a bust, but look forward to the upside 🙂

  5. Yes, you have to be extremely specific when asking the Universe for things!

  6. Seb says:

    It’s called getting your sea legs! Sail on, Sailor 🙂

  7. Hi Deliberately Delicious. I have voted you for the Lovely Blog Award. I love reading your posts, there are so well written, inspirational and laced with a good sense of humour that makes me chuckle.
    As a nominee, all you need to do is follow these simple rules;
    Create a post including the Lovely Blog Award Logo, thank the person who nominated you and nominate 15 others. See my post as an example Happy blogging! x

    http://dingdongitsmrwrong.wordpress.com/

  8. Pingback: The Kindness of Strangers | Deliberately Delicious

  9. Denise Hisey says:

    A sinking boat is one of my worst nightmares! I’m a land lubber to be sure!
    I survived a plane crash in the water and that was enough to confirm my fears of the water!

    • And a plane crash is my worst nightmare! And I’m sure if I’d had your experience, I would be leery of getting on a boat. It’s funny, but I wasn’t at all scared that we’d sink. I could see that I could pump water out faster than it was flowing in, and I felt very confident in my captain, who volunteers for the Coast Guard when he isn’t out on his own boat.

I'd love to hear what you think!

