Lovely Blogs

Lovely BlogThe charming Daniella, over at Ding Dong It’s Mr. Wrong, has nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award. Thank you so much, Daniella. I am touched!

According to the rules, I am to thank the person who nominated me (thanks again, Daniella!), share seven things about myself, and then nominate fifteen blogs that I think are deserving of the One Lovely Blog Award.

So, quickly, seven things about me:

1. I love the word lovely. It’s such a wonderfully versatile word. It isn’t a very Canadian word, but my parents are Welsh, and I’ve picked it up from them.

2. Since we’re talking about words picked up from my parents, I also love the word cwtch. Those of you with passing familiarity with the Welsh language, will recognize that this word, without a vowel in sight, has got to be Welsh. It’s pronounced “cuutch” and it means to snuggle, as in, “Come and have a cwtch before bed.” I am not making this word up. It was recently added to the OED.

3. Three of my favourite books ever: Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell; Rebel Angels, by Robertson Davies; In the Time of the Butterflies, by Julia Alvarez.

4. I never chew gum. It’s so unladylike.

5. For a single woman, I have far too many wine glasses. If you include the champagne flutes, I count 32. If you include martini glasses, it’s up to 42. This seems unreasonable.

6. One day, I’m going to get brave enough to post some poetry.

7. I will never, ever sky dive.

And now, on to my nominations…

My Irish friend, Paul, has recently started a blog called The Four Rooms, named for “an Indian proverb that says that everyone is a house with four rooms, a physical, a mental, an emotional, and a spiritual…”ย  His posts are thoughtful and introspective and always give me a new perspective on my own situation.

Paul Sheridan, when he’s jacked up on caffeine, might be the funniest guy in the world. Please, do yourself a favour, and go and read his post I’m Overcaffeinated!!! His blog is called Word Play.

And while we’re talking funny, romance writer,ย  CC Mackenzie can do humorous like nobody’s business. Check out her hilarious post, “Let’s Talk about Sex”.

Tarnation and Eudemonia is one of my favourite places to go when I need a poetry hit. You know how you can just tell that someone would be a good lover based on the way he (or she) writes? Well, check out Seb’s poem “Ass”, and tell me you wouldn’t sleep with him.

For a different kind of sensuous, check out Marianne’s gorgeous blog, East of Malaga, celebrating life on the Costa del Sol. Marianne’s photography is gorgeous and has me dreaming of a Spanish vacation…

Another blog with beautiful photographs is Nine and a Half Hours Ahead. A soldier, stationed in Afghanistan, Dan posts photographs of the scenery, the soldiers and the people he encounters day to day. His pictures of Afghan children make me weep. Dan is coming home soon, but I hope he turns his attentions to the beauty and humanity of his home town.

Musings at a Picnic is another lovely blog, celebrating, through photography,ย  the beauty of the simple things in life. I love how this blogger finds beauty in yard sale finds, or in a simple beach scene.

I also recently discovered Transformed by the Journey, a blogger whose photography has me wanting to find my way soon to Santa Fe.

I look forward to new posts by Afternoon Storm. I loved, loved, loved her recent post, “The Magic of a Wild Beach.” Can this woman ever write! (And her photographs are beautiful too.)

I’ve recently gotten hooked on The Landy, who reminds me that my definition of adventure is pretty tame. This past weekend, he participated in a crazy, two day adventure race in New Zealand. Inspiring stuff!

And for adventures of a different kind, I’m enjoying My Balanced Life, a blog documenting Regina Mae’s dating experiences. I love her honesty.

I also love Words Become Superfluous. I relate to Amb, who admits that she started her blog, “because I talk too much.” I hear you sister. (But Bradley Whitford, from The West Wing, is my boyfriend!) I particularly love her “My life as a movie” posts.

Two more recent discoveries are Quarter Life, a young woman wise beyond her years, and Not So Fancy Nancy, who posts World War II letters between her parents.

And finally, a little nudge to Sir Francis Drake, who tells me he’s nearly finished his post about a recent adventure involving a sailboat and a reef…

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lovely Blogs

  1. Paul Kinder says:

    Hi Sally, congratulations on receiving such a coveted award. I’m thrilled for you. I always enjoy reading your posts, they are so full of life and humour and so well written. As a separated man its particularly insightful to read about your adventures and I do hope you continue to be “authentic” in your posts, and not tone them down for your male readers ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I never seem to get this quite right…You are now also a winner of this coveted award! Go forth and nominate a further 15 bloggers ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ve been surprised that my posts resonate with some men too. When I started, I expected that it would be mainly women who would be interested. I’ll try not to tone down ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Awww! Thank you so much for the shout-out. I wish I were allowed to nominate you right back because I love reading about your adventures large and small. : ) (And I’m down with the no gum and never skydiving. Never.)

    Congrats to you!

  3. I’ll go and look at those blogs, Sally! And you know what, I think exactly the same thing about Seb. Good thing he lives in America and is therefore thoroughly safe from me.

  4. Seb says:

    Well, 32 hours in and no offers to sleep with me yet. Clearly this place has higher standards than MySpace!

  5. danbohmer says:

    Thank you so much for including my blog.

  6. Marianne says:

    First of all, congratulations to you on your award. Very well deserved ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for nominating me as one of your fifteen for the Lovely Blog Award – Iยดm honoured.

I'd love to hear what you think!

