It’s Not All Wine and Sunsets

Sailing SunsetApparently sailing is not all about wine and sunsets.

Given the number of evenings this summer that I’ve spent floating in one spectacular cove or another, sipping a glass of malbec and watching the sun slip away, I might be forgiven for having developed a somewhat one-sided perspective.

Swabbing decksBut Dan seems quite determined to provide me with the full sailing experience this summer. Last weekend, there was the close encounter with the reef.Β  The lesson on how to use a bilge pump. And last night, Captain Dan introduced me to another important sailing concept: swabbing decks.

I know. I might as well just put my princess tiara on eBay right now.

Dan deserves some credit here: he approached the whole thing very cleverly.

First he invited me to have dinner with him on the boat. And then, once I’d accepted, he asked if I’d like to come down a little early to help him clean the boat first.

I couldn’t very well say no, could I? After all our beautiful sailing adventures?

Evening at TsehumWhich is how I found myself scrubbing scuff marks, swabbing decks and rinsing the accumulations of salt from a boat well-used this summer.

Yeah. Go ahead and laugh.

But you should see the boat now, all clean and shiny again.

And you should have seen how happy Dan was to get the salt off the boat and to clean away the many scuff marks.

And you should have seen the sunset.

Sunset

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Not All Wine and Sunsets

  1. The Landy says:

    A warm balmy evening and a sunset like that! It’d be worth scrubbing the decks to be part of it…

  2. Marianne says:

    Ah yes, quite crafty Dan!!

    I guess that swabbing the decks is part of the whole sailing experience, though not the glamorous part that everyone wants to hear about. Very necessary evil nonetheless!

    Looks as though the sunset made up for it, Sally πŸ™‚

  3. Swabbing the decks? What’s next, walking the plank??

    Well, the tradeoff of good company and a stunning sunset make it worth a wee bit of swabbing, I suppose. : )

  4. yepirategunn says:

    Beautiful photography

I'd love to hear what you think!

