Gift

English: Hummingbird aerodynamics of flight

English: Hummingbird aerodynamics of flight (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gift

He touches me

like I’m a wounded bird

jeweled and delicate

fragile as dawn

You don’t know,

he whispers

how beautiful you are.

He traces my lips

loops his fingers through my curls

kisses my shoulders

He shakes his head

and murmurs

the man’s a fool.

A fool.

His letters,

now that he’s gone,

whisper

fly.

Related Posts

Ruby Slipper Reflections

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gift

  1. Seb says:

    Yes, yes, yes. That’s just grand!!

  2. Marianne says:

    Lovely words with deep, sensual meaning. Beautiful, Sally.

  3. I like this a lot, as I love all of your poetry. I think it’s the structure I like, it has a sort of stillness about it, and it starts well and then wraps up very neatly. I was trying to guess what the story was in this poem – I got it until the last lines, then I wasn’t sure. Fly, as in ‘run for the hills?’

    • Thank you for your thoughtful response, Rose. I’ve not been quite happy with the ending of the poem but I couldn’t put my finger on it. I was thinking “Fly,” as in take to the air, wounded bird. You’re ready to fly now. But I can see how it might be interpreted differently.

  4. The bite of ”the man’s a fool” repeated and ”now that he’s gone” is the butter – lovely! Not sure if you can push the ”Related posts’ line down..bit too close and bothers maybe. Lovely stuff!

I'd love to hear what you think!

