Once in a Blue Moon

LundOnce in a blue moon, the stars align, and provide us with a perfectly magical season in our lives. I had one of those seasons this summer. I didn’t plan it that way. In fact, in June I had very little planned for the summer at all. But I knew that my free spirit was in need of some attention, and I had the time and emotional space available to welcome a bit of adventure into my life.

And in walked Dan. “When are you going to start having a bit of fun?” he asked me. Here he was, a man with a sailboat, looking for somebody to enjoy time on the water with him for the summer. It would have been easy to turn him down. I’d already turned him down once, knowing that there was no way that he and I could ever make our lives work together. But I was in a very open place in my life and so I took Dan up on his offer.  And we spent the summer squeezing as much fun as was possible into the weekends we spent sailing together.

Flowers in LundThere was an actual  blue moon this summer, right at the end of August. We spent that evening in Lund, a charming little place on the Sunshine Coast. Dan had visited Lund earlier in the summer and, knowing I’d like it, he made a return trip there with me. And I loved it, just as he knew I would. We spent the evening enjoying a meal in the old hotel’s restaurant while watching the sun set over the mountains of Strathcona Park. Then as night fell, we watched the second full moon of the month rise over Lund.

In the morning we wandered into Nancy’s bakery, a funky little place with the most delicious looking breads and pastries. We were there on a mission, though: to secure two of Nancy’s world famous blackberry cinnamon buns. All I can tell you is that I would swim naked from Dan’s boat for one of these gooey treats.

Cinnamon Bun
Once in a blue moon, the stars align and provide us with a magical season in our lives. Part of the magic this summer was in the sailing and part was in getting to know Dan. Knowing that this would be a brief season for the two of us, that this would not be a long term thing, there was no pressure. It was easy to be ourselves, easy to “just be” together. And as a result, I got to know the real Dan, the unguarded Dan, and he got to know the real Sally. Along the way, we both got a little more attached than we’d intended to, making it harder to let the season end. But we know our brief season is coming to a close.

I don’t know where our respective paths will lead us next, but I hope that those paths will continue to cross. And I know that wherever I go, I will remember this magical summer and will think of Dan with great respect and affection.

Once in a blue moon, the stars align for us. And it is a great gift in our lives when they do.

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Once in a Blue Moon

  1. Seb says:

    Well, let’s not hope this is one of those “girl in every port” type thing-ies. 🙂

  2. kp says:

    Wow, it sounds like a wonderful summer and a great relationship born out of a willingness to live in the moment!

  3. ReginaMae says:

    It sounds like a beautiful, once in a blue moon, kind of summer! 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us on your blog!

  4. I think there can be something very nice about relationships with a definite end date, as long as you both know it. I had one of those once, with a younger man, and we really enjoyed one another while it lasted, with no bitterness when we agreed to let it go.

    • There were so many good things about operating this way: the best part, I think, was that because we knew it wasn’t going to last, there was no expectation on either of our parts about who the other person had to be in order to fit into that vision of what a long term partner “should” look like. I’m hopeful that we’ll remain friends.

  5. The Landy says:

    Live today like there is no tomorrow, and (insert naughty word) tomorrow it may never come! Good for you!…

  6. yepirategunn says:

    Fun and nice comments, but for me, the real main point is that it is so beautifully written. The way you make the episode flow is wonderful, and an example for creative writing classes. ”And in walked Dan,” …great start, love the use of the blue moon, the naughty blackberry bun and the stars aligning.

    • Why thank you! It really was a fantastic summer!

      • yepirategunn says:

        Now now..you’re starting to make me envious! But really, subject matter aside (though it really was very nice) I can see you have a special touch with words. What you did with a simple nice episode, the blue moon coming back into the story, the rhythm, the focus on charming details such as the blackberry bun. Anyway, won’t go on – just that good writing is always a pleasure.

I'd love to hear what you think!

