W is for Will

New beginningsDear Will,

You asked me last night if I believe in fate. When I think of fate, I think of predetermination, of an outcome that is fixed and over which I have no control. I think that we end up where we do because of choices. So no, I don’t believe in fate.

But I do believe in serendipity, in the happy accidents that sometimes shape our lives. You found me on Plenty of Fish in one of those rare windows when I opened my profile. And I’d just posted that picture from New Orleans, the picture in which you recognized Kim. What a difference to start with a point of connection.

New DayI don’t believe in fate. But I do believe in good timing. If you’d found me six months ago, I wouldn’t have been ready for you. Your open, forthright approach would have scared the hell out of me. Five minutes and I’d have been running for the hills. Six months ago, I still had healing to do. I wasn’t looking for someone who was emotionally available and ready for the next phase in his life. It sounds like six months ago, you wouldn’t have been ready for me either. So let’s hear it for good timing.

I don’t believe in fate. But I do believe in “bloody good luck.” What are the chances of meeting somebody with whom you feel an instant connection, an instant sense of comfort?Β  What are the chances of shared values, shared experience and good chemistry? “I knew from that first date that you were different,” you told me. I felt the same way.

New beginningThere’s so much I like about you, Will. You’re warm and kind and funny. You’re intelligent and responsible. You love the same Indian writers that I do. And you’ve got just enough of the rebel Australian bad boy in you to give you a sexy edge. I like you, Will. (And I really like your delicious Aussie accent).

The second time we went out, you told me that you weren’t going to date anyone else, that you wanted to see where things might go with me.

I want to see where things go with you too. I’m ready for a new beginning.

Here’s to serendipity, Will, to good timing and to a bit of “bloody good luck.”

Let’s see what happens next.

Sally

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to W is for Will

  1. I’m very excited for you Sally! It’s when two people are at the right place at the right time.

  2. amb says:

    Wheee!! I’m so excited for you and Will Sally! What a wonderful story, I can’t wait to hear how things unfold!

  3. CC MacKenzie says:

    Aww, how lovely! I like Will already. Go for it, kiddo!

  4. Please tell me you have had more than two dates with this guy.

    Beautifully written by the way…

  5. becca3416 says:

    This made me feel gooey inside, but good gooey, like brownie batter. I wish you the best!

  6. becca3416 says:

    Oh and P.S. I am jealous of the Australian accent. Those are the hottest.

  7. Debra Kristi says:

    Beautiful, Sally. Just beautiful. Good luck.

  8. susielindau says:

    That’s how Danny and I got together! Go for it!

  9. Oh. My. God. W delivers! And Australian?? Can I buy the movie rights??

  10. El Guapo says:

    Hell yes!
    Love your attitude towards serendipity vs fate.

    Hope you and Wil turns into everything you mutually hope for.

  11. kp says:

    Wow…Thanks goodness his name did not start with an “A” or a “D”!!! I too believe in serendipity. I like the idea of synchronicity. And there have been moments when I have been a believer in fate. The experience you are describing sound very much like what I experienced when I met my husband 30 years ago. Sometimes you just know! Be brave and have fun!!! Love Kim

    • Thanks, Kim. We had a bit of a laugh coming up with a name. (I hadn’t really explained about the Alphabet Dating Game, or the fact that he was my “W”…) He suggested all sorts of inappropriate names before we settled on Will. (And I’ll need a bit of bravery – letting myself see where things might go is a little bit scary.)

  12. The Hook says:

    What can I say? Good luck!

  13. Marianne says:

    Mmmm Will! Hope things work out for you both, Sally.

  14. Pingback: Smooth Calls Out the Elephant | Smooth ReEntry

  15. Pingback: Reflections on 2014 | Deliberately Delicious

I'd love to hear what you think!

