The Courage to Leap

Taking the leapSo I’m in Starbucks this morning, catching up on some of my favourite blogs, when “T is for Tom” walks in.

“Hey you!” he says, smiling broadly as he comes over and plunks himself into the chair beside me. “Who are you writing about today?”

“Tom! Nice to see you! I’m reading blogs right now, not writing.” After a pause, I add, “But I wrote about a new guy yesterday.  I think maybe I’ve maybe met someone.”

“That’s great!” he says. We talk for a couple of minutes about Will, and then Tom leans in and says, “I’ve met someone too. In fact, we just bought a house together.”

“What? Are you serious?”

Tom laughs at my reaction and nods.

“But you and I went out together a couple of times in October! How long have you known this woman?”

Leaping“We met in the summer,” he tells me. “And we really liked each other. But it was so intense that we both got scared off and ran away.”

“And now you’ve bought a house together? I can’t believe you!”

Tom laughs at me. “You know what? She’s perfect for me. I call her my evil twin. Since I got past my fear, it’s been great.”

I’m still shaking my head in amazement, but I can see how happy he looks. “You’re crazy, man. But in a good way.”

He shrugs. “I’m 52. I’m not going to let fear stand in the way of happiness. I see too many people living like that, living from a place of fear or mistrust.”

I can’t see myself leaping with Tom’s abandon, but I admire his fearlessness. I’ve seen first hand what fear looks like in the dating world. I’ve seen the many ways that we protect ourselves from the possibility of further hurt. I’ve seen how easy it is to live in a place without trust. It takes enormous courage to put our past hurts and betrayals behind us, to allow ourselves to be open once again. To be open is to be vulnerable, to risk the possibility of heartbreak. But unless we open ourselves, we miss out on the possibility, the pleasure, the exhilaration of love.

It’s time for me to adopt a little bit of Tom’s courage. It’s time for me to risk a little, to open myself, to recognize when I’m living from a place of fear. I might not be ready to leap from the cliff, but perhaps I could at least take a peek over the edge.

 

When have you taken a leap of faith in your life? How did it work out for you?

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Courage to Leap

  1. Leaps of faith are great, but I’m all for peeking first! 🙂

  2. Jerry says:

    There is fear and there is recklessness. Aversion usually signals the end of a relationship and can happen at any time, however it becomes less likely as the relationship strengthens. it seems like a high risk strategy to make a high emotional investment at the beginning of a relationship. In affairs of the heart, I counsel caution. 🙂

    • I’m with you. I won’t be buying a new house any time soon. But I think that I can learn a thing or two about letting fear dictate my decisions. I admire Tom for his faith and for his willingness to risk – once again – his heart.

  3. definitely peek.. but you’ll know when to leap. 🙂

  4. Congratulations! Well, I guess not quite yet, but it looks promising! No more date blogs, maybe. Leaps of faith..I usually take them, and it usually doesn’t turn out well, but the journey is often interesting. I used to be a risk taker, in ‘love’ – not now, which I guess is why romance is somewhat off the agenda.

    • I think we can only risk our hearts so often before we can’t face the pain. I am much more cautious than I once was. We’ll see how things go with Mr. W. And if it works out, I’ll just have to blog about other people’s dates instead!

  5. The Landy says:

    Good luck, take the leap… Some people do some pretty crazy things, things that take much courage, but it is usually when it comes to matters of love that the greatest courage of all is required!

  6. Ha! I thought you were going to end with he got a cat or a dog or something, I’m thinking you should be pretty happy nothing went further with you guys. To me, there’s something unsettling about a relationship that moves that fast. You can take a leap with how you think you feel, but you need protect yourself, too!

  7. Marianne says:

    I’ve not been getting your posts in my Reader, Sally – so that’s why I’ve not commented – sorry!

    Hope things are working out well with you and Will.

    Marianne xx

  8. babedarla says:

    I love what Tom says about not living from a place of fear…when you get to your’ fifties and find yourself single, living from fear makes no sense at all!
    (btw, I’m much slower in deciding which shoes to wear, lol!)

  9. The Hook says:

    Good luck! Don’t look down, just take a deep breath and go for it…

I'd love to hear what you think!

