An Ordinary Bloke

Holding Hands

Holding Hands (Photo credit: JcOlivera.com)

“I’m not quite sure what you see in me,” Will said the other day. “I’m just an ordinary bloke.”

Yep. No sports car. No sail boat. And a sense of humour that is decidedly adolescent. An ordinary bloke.

A bloke who never leaves me guessing about how he feels. “I can’t wait to see you again,” he tells me when we haven’t seen one another for a couple of days. “I am seriously in like with you.”

A bloke who invites me to his Christmas party, even though we’ve known each other a little more than a month. A bloke who invites me into his life, who wants to introduce me to his friends and colleagues. A bloke whose friends lean in to tell me things like, “That man has a heart of gold.” A bloke who says to me after the party, “You looked so beautiful tonight. I was so proud to be there with you.”

A bloke who is devoted to his son, who softens whenever he speaks about his boy, who has given up much to be able to raise him. A bloke who misses his mother, who remembers her with affection, who tells little stories about the ways she showed her love.

A bloke who makes me the most divine scrambled eggs with smoked salmon for breakfast, the way he saw Gordon Ramsay do it, who tells me that preparing meals is, for him, a way to show his love.

A bloke who is fiercely loyal to his friends.

Is he perfect, this bloke? No. He is complex, flawed, real. Just like me.

An ordinary bloke. One worth hanging on to.

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to An Ordinary Bloke

  1. sounds like a special guy.

  2. El Guapo says:

    And now I have a big grin on my face.
    Couldn’t be happier for you!

  3. CC MacKenzie says:

    Yep, you’ve found yourself a good man. I’ll say that again, A Good Man. They are out there and they’re not flash but show their love and affection in the ways that matter. And when the bad times come he’ll be standing right there with you shoulder to shoulder.

    I’m so pleased for you šŸ™‚

    • I’ve always believed that the good men are out there, and I’ve dated a few of them in the past, but I haven’t always appreciated them when I’ve found them. “Will” is definitely “Good Man” material and I like him very much šŸ™‚

  4. my grandma used to say, the best days are the ones where nothing happens. you enjoy the slow, the steady, the predictable, the good. that’s the kind of ordinary that makes life wonderful. and of course, as the landy says, there is no ordinary life, ordinary people or ordinary moments. embrace it and just enjoy it. šŸ™‚

  5. susielindau says:

    Sounds like the perfect bloke! What a nice Christmas surprise!

  6. kp says:

    Halleluah!! (How do you spell that?) Good for you! He sounds like a lovely man and you sound very happy! Your note comes at a good time for me as well….because I have been questioning my own marriage (as we all do from time to time) and as I hear you list the lovely things about your bloke, I remember that I fell in love with my hubby because of his good heart. A good heart is worth fighting for!! Kim

  7. Marianne says:

    ….he’s beginning to sound like a keeper šŸ™‚

    Enjoy every moment, Sally.

  8. babedarla says:

    Congratulations, Sally, he does indeed sound like a keeper!

  9. Lovely to hear that our Aussie blokes can still turn on the charm šŸ˜‰

  10. The Hook says:

    A bloke who has set out to win your beautiful heart?
    A bloke who tries to lead a life of honor and dignity?
    I don’t think he’s ordinary at all…

  11. kingmidget says:

    “A bloke who never leaves me guessing about how he feels. ”
    And, that right there is the secret. Hope he stays that way and that you share the exact same thing with him. Never be afraid of the truth, hearing it or expressing it.

  12. Seb says:

    Calling him a “bloke” makes him sound like Dick Van Dyke in “Mary Poppins”!

  13. Jeff says:

    Sounds like an extraordinary bloke.

  14. heysugarsugar says:

    your a lucky girl šŸ™‚ lovely post, great blog …Ceri

I'd love to hear what you think!

