A Year in Moments

Moment7 Our lives are richer for the small, potent experiences we savour and remember. As this year draws to a close, I think of some of my favourite memories. It was a year that began for me with the heartbreak of a failed relationship, and though I spent much of the year healing, it is not the sorrow of those early months that has stayed with me. It is, instead, the desolate beauty of an early morning in the Broken Islands, sitting alone on the beach, watching as the sun rises, and the sky transforms from palest blue, to layers of vivid pink, and to a brighter blue with the promise of another sunshine-filled day.

What has stayed with me are those breathtakingly gorgeous summer evenings on the sailboat, watching the sky blaze into sunset, smelling the fresh salt-tang in the air, and feeling the gentle sway of the ocean.   Sailboat

Moment10What has stayed with me are the quiet family moments, pausing with my boys to take in the scenery at the top of a mountain or at the side of a stream, or laughing as we play a game together after supper. I think of my middle son as he hoisted the District Cup last spring after his team won their division in soccer. I’ve never seen a smile more jubilant. I think of my eldest as he walked into the house, proudly holding out his learner’s license, days after he turned sixteen. I think of my youngest, smiling tentatively as he had his head shaved for Cop for Cancer.

New OrleansWhat has stayed with me is the warmth and energy and vibrancy of New Orleans, the taste of beignets and cafe au lait, of oyster po’ boys, of bread pudding. I think of the joyous music we listened to at Preservation Hall, of the lone trumpet player on a bench along the walkway along the Mississippi River, of the street bands everywhere we went.

What has stayed with me this year are the evenings spent with old friends, laughing late into the night, whether gathered around a dining table or a campfire. What has stayed are my morning coffees with Kira, whose stories always make me laugh and whose perspective always helps me see things clearly.

I’ll be spending tonight with some of my oldest and dearest friends, gathered around a table, sharing good food and good stories. And I’ll be bringing “W is for Will.”

It seems a fitting way to celebrate the end of what has turned out to be a very good year.

 

What are your favourite moments from 2012?

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Year in Moments

  1. allthingsgeography1 says:

    I went to New Orleans this year (in January for a meteorology conference). Fun times 🙂

  2. Jerry says:

    What an incredible spiritual year it has been for you. How interesting that none of those special moments are possessions but all exclusively experiences, and all lived in the present moment. A wonderful and very happy 2013 to you. 🙂

    • Beyond the basics, I would always choose experience over possessions. It has been a year of growth for me, and I’ve been honoured to have you at the sidelines of my journey cheering me on. A very happy 2013 to you too.

  3. This is a wonderful reflection of what it’s all about. The photo from New Orleans is incredible. Best wishes for a happy, healthy & full 2013!

  4. El Guapo says:

    Despite some good memories, overall, I’m glad the calendar has turned.

    Reviewing your year that was sounds like it was a great note to end on!

  5. Diane C says:

    Lovely memories Sally. I wish you and your boys all the best for the new year!

  6. Crikey, what about that “what’s her name lady” in New Orleans with the naughty stories…

    Geez, we had some great moments in 2012, but sharing them with loved ones, that always tops our list!

  7. What a lovely read, I was able to stop, take a breath, and think about one of my favorite moments, and it’d probably be watching my son get his phd. I think it was the happiest day of my life next to actually having him.! Thanks for making me think about that happy day again. Happy New Year!

  8. Seb says:

    And it’s not so much how those pieces, those moments fit together, on one side, with the other moments from this year – it’s how, years later, you find the pieces that fit with the other side of them. That’s the treasure of moments…

    • I hadn’t thought of that, Seb, but you’re right. Sometimes I’ll look back upon an experience long past and realize, “Oh! That’s why that happened!” (Five years before my marriage ended, I trained as a personal coach. Though I didn’t pursue coaching professionally, my experiences in training got me through the darkest period of divorce.)

  9. heysugarsugar says:

    Fabulous post….funny you should write this ”What has stayed with me is the warmth and energy and vibrancy of New Orleans, the taste of beignets and cafe au lait,” go see my post only about ” weeks ago…..http://heysugarsugar.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/cafe-au-lait-and-beignets/ lol we said the same things ) Ceri

  10. Wow, the Broken Islands? As in, Broken Group?

I'd love to hear what you think!

