One Awesome Kid

AwardIf you’ll permit me a moment of parental pride…

My eldest son, who is 16, received an “Amazing Kid” award today. These awards are granted through a local television station and highlight good kids in the community. My son is a quiet, behind-the-scenes kind of kid, who tutors younger students at school and helps teach the beginner karate classes at his dojo. He’s participated in the Cops for Cancer fundraiser for the last 5 years, shaving his head every October. He’s worked hard at school, earning honour roll status, and spent years working toward his junior black belt in karate.

He is a good kid.

CopsNobody interviewed me, but I could have added that he watches his little brothers, takes out the garbage, and cleans the kitchen every night, without being asked. Even at home, he is helpful and polite.

He really is a good kid.

And I’m so glad that he is being recognized, that the TV station chooses to highlight the responsible, hard working, quiet kids, and not just the stars.

This is his day.

karateBut it affirms for me that my ex-husband and I got something right when we divorced. Before we ended the relationship, we made a commitment to put our kids ahead of our grievances. The first question is always, “What’s best for the boys?” And I think we’ve done a pretty good job.

I don’t write about my boys very often, as I’m conscious of their privacy. But there are times when their stories deserve to be told (and when a little bit of parental celebration is in order!)

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to One Awesome Kid

  1. heysugarsugar says:

    oh Sally, go give your boy a big hug from the crazy lady in Wales 🙂 what a proud moment for you and yes you allowed parental pride.. he sounds a fabulous boy and he is obviously a credit to you. much love xxxxxx

    • If he knew I had a blog, I could pass on the hug 🙂 One of these days I’m going to have to come clean about my dark side. I’m just not sure that my teenage sons want to read about their mother’s dating exploits…
      Nonetheless, I am a proud mama. Thank you, Ceri!

  2. Congratulations! I saw this bright light in the sky and wondered what it was, now I know it was all of you beaming with pride. Kudos to all.
    I have to add that I LOVE how your younger son is peaking around to get a better look…such a little brother move.

    • Ha! The eight year old stole the show. He chatted up the producers about his involvement with “Planet Protectors” at his elementary school. “Do you know that we’ve picked up 943 pieces of garbage in February?” He’s already talking about when he wins the Amazing Kid award 🙂 I love his confidence!

  3. CC MacKenzie says:

    Congratulations! How brilliant is this? He’s gorgeous, btw, and a credit to his mother. His little brother looks a handful too!

    Big Hug……

    • I have three lovely boys. I’m very lucky, and I never forget it. Okay maybe I forget it from time to time. The littlest brother is actually not a handful at all. I think I’ve raised my voice with him about three times in his life. But he definitely knows how to get a laugh!

  4. Diane C says:

    Congratulations to him! I hadn’t heard. I only know him a little but every interaction I have had with him, he is polite, cheerful. Just a really nice kid to talk to!

  5. kingmidget says:

    Very cool. He sounds like my youngest.

  6. Marianne says:

    What a fine young man you have there, Sally 🙂 You have every reason to be very proud.

  7. Well firstly, congratulations to your son, both parents should be very proud. And it is good that you have been able to put your children above all else. All too often they become pawns in a warring match between parents!!!

    Cheers, Baz

    • We’ve tried really hard to keep our own differences apart from the important work of raising our children. This afternoon we were at our youngest son’s school event together, and whenever we can, we show up as a team. There are probably people at our sons’ schools who don’t realize we’re divorced!

  8. kp says:

    Amen!! I am all for celebrating our kids and it sounds like you have good reason to celebrate. Your son sounds like an incredibly caring and giving person. I love that you and your kids’ Dad have been able to put the kids first; through times that must have been painful and challenging for both of you. Congratulations to all of you!! Kim

    • Thanks Kim! I remember attending our eldest son’s Christmas concert with my ex only days after he had moved out. My anger was so white-hot that I was surprised that the whole gym didn’t go up in flames! These days it’s much easier. After my son’s award last week, I went out for dinner with the kids and my ex’s girlfriend (My ex was away on business). It felt perfectly comfortable and the right thing to do.

      • kp says:

        LOL….I love it!! How grown up of all of you grown ups! That must be so nice for your kids! I have had friends, and seen neighbours, who pulled this off, and it never fails to impress me. It makes me feel so hopeful for all of us. Good for you!!!

  9. amb says:

    Adding my congratulations to the list 🙂 So exciting – and it sounds like he deserves every one of the kudos coming his way, and more! xo.

  10. He sounds like a wonderful kid. You deserve to be proud, and so does he!

  11. El Guapo says:

    Have a great celebration! Definitely well deserved, gor both your son and his parents.

I'd love to hear what you think!

