A Kiss Goodbye

kissDear Will,

I wish I knew how to end a relationship gracefully. I wish it could be done without hurt and without anger. I know I’ve hurt you and I am so sorry.

I wish I could explain in a way that would make sense to you why I needed to end things. There was so much that was good about our developing relationship. And there is so much that is good about you.

But I have to listen to my heart, Will.

I believe that there are gifts in every relationship, no matter how brief. You have shown me what it feels like to be loved in a way that is solid and grounded. It’s been years since I’ve felt that way, years since I’ve really been able to trust somebody fully. From the beginning, I knew my heart was safe with you.

And you’ve shown me that I don’t need to keep a romantic relationship entirely separate from my family life. One of the things I loved about you the most was the way you interacted with my kids. I haven’t told them yet about this ending. I know they’re going to miss you.

And I’m going to miss you too, Will. There’s so much I’m going to miss about you.

I’m so sorry. You risked your heart for me. I wish that I could have protected your heart the way I know you would have protected mine. I hope that you will risk it again, Will. You are a good man. You deserve the happiness of a strong relationship.

I wish I could have given you a kiss goodbye.

Sally

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to A Kiss Goodbye

  1. babedarla says:

    Oh man, Sally! I’m so sorry! This sucks! I was so happy for you…

  2. Anonymous says:

    owwww!! That’s got to hurt 😦

  3. Not sure what to say… Will be expectant as you unfold your heart more in words even as we did when you first met “W is for Will”. Be well, Sally

  4. I’m sorry the hear this Sally…I was hoping for a happy ending for the two of you.

  5. Blessings to you both.

  6. CC MacKenzie says:

    I’m so very sorry, Sally.

  7. When I saw the heading of your post pop into my mailbox, I had a sinking feeling… 😦 So sorry…

  8. kingmidget says:

    😦 On the one hand … on the other … if there was something wrong, better to make the break now. But still, after reading your posts about him … 😦

    • This was definitely not a black and white decision. There were all kinds of great things about Will. But in the end, I don’t think we would have been a good fit in the long term. It’s hard to know whether I’ll look back and regret this decision. Right now it feels right.

      • kingmidget says:

        Ugh … regret … one of the ugliest words in our language. One I spend way too much time experiencing.

      • I worked with a woman who had a wonderful attitude about work and life. She frequently reminded me, “You can never go back.” It’s a good mantra when we start feeling regret.

      • kingmidget says:

        It’s all too true and all too difficult to put into action at times. Which is all part of the new “attitude” I’m trying to instill in myself — some days with more success than others.

      • So long as we’re striving, we’re growing. And sooner or later we’ll grow into the people we wish to become. 🙂

  9. heysugarsugar says:

    awwww Sal’ 😦 xxxx

  10. becca3416 says:

    Man, the yearning for the good-bye kiss. I’ve had many of those bitter sweet endings.

  11. Paul says:

    owww!! That’s got to hurt! 😦

  12. Follow your heart, always! Take care, not sure how to do a hug, so think of this as one 🙂

  13. El Guapo says:

    If it was the right thing for you to do, I hope one day he understands.
    Rock on, Delicious.

  14. kp says:

    Sally, I am sorry to learn this. It sounded like the two of you were off to a very good start, but many things have to fit for a relationship to last, and you have to be true to yourself. Kim

  15. Damn. I’m sorry, Sally.

I'd love to hear what you think!

