The End is Nigh

IMG_0731

The end is nigh! The end of the alphabet that is…

Those of you who’ve followed my blog for a while know about the Alphabet Dating Game. Heading back out into the treacherous waters of Internet dating last spring, I knew that I was likely facing a good number of painful coffee dates with unsuitable men, and so I began documenting my dates, starting with A is for Adam. I was pretty certain I was going to have to kiss a few Internet frogs before I found the right guy for me. Documenting my dates seemed like a playful way to stay positive in a mostly disheartening project. And it started out that way.

It was kind of fun as I went out with B is for Ben and C is for Chris, and even as I worked my way up to J is for John. I knew it would take a while. Even though I’d read on Plenty of Fish that it takes an average of seven dates to meet somebody suitable, I expected it would take longer. I was prepared for the possibility of an M is for Mike; I could even see the outside chance of an  S is for Stefan. But here’s the problem: I never thought I’d actually have to stare down X, Y and Z!

That’s where I’m at people. I’ve dated right up to W. There are only three letters left.

I’m a little concerned.

What am I going to do once I reach the end of the alphabet? We’re talking three dates.
And then what? I’ll need a new concept.

Fortunately, my friend Jane has given me an idea.  She recently emailed me and suggested that we get together for coffee the next time she’s in Victoria. She signed off with a playful, “J is for Jane.”

Which got me thinking: perhaps I should just start at the beginning of the alphabet again. But this time I’ll start with “A is for Andrea.”

It’s an idea that has some merit. (I’ve already dated nearly all the eligible men in Victoria).

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The End is Nigh

  1. El Guapo says:

    Have you considered ranking the next batch of men, then dating them in numerical order?
    (No, I have no idea how that would work either.)

  2. words4jp says:

    You have a lot of courage. Right now, no one could pay me to go on a date. And I would rather be hung from my toenails than go on an online site again. Yuck. I am staying single for the rest of my life!!!!!!!! (Yes, I sound bitter – maybe it will pass someday?). 😉

    • I think I’m up to about 50 dates in the past five years. At some level, I must enjoy it 🙂

      • Diane C says:

        When I was doing the lavalife thing, I had a blast! I dated more that year than I had ever dated in my life. Sure, there were lots of unsuitables but I approached every date as an opportunity to get to know someone I had never known before and to hear new stories about their lives! When I did this, it took all the nervousness away and all the pressure to have this guy be the ‘right one’. And then I met Nick. Two dates and we were both ready to be exclusive. Three dates and we knew that this was going to be long term. So here we are, 7 1/2 years later, coming up on our second wedding anniversary and still going strong. So, true love is possible over the Interwebs but first of all, it has to be fun to succeed.

      • It’s good to know, Diane. I’m still out there so I haven’t given up yet on happily ever after. But I approach dating much the way you did, so I don’t really mind the whole process (at least in short bursts).

  3. Dane Allison says:

    Loved this last post! Stay optimistic, deliciously deliberate and know that the universe has amazing things in store for you. 😉

  4. kingmidget says:

    I think you go through Xavier, Yul, and Zeus and worry about it after. 🙂 I’ve heard Zeus is quite the catch.
    Just, please, never become a cougar.

  5. Marianne says:

    You could always date someone from each country around the world – that should give you almost another 200 experiences!

  6. I have struggled with this, and always loved your system. I think you now switch to AA, BB, CC, etc. the system works too well to change. I have considered stealing it actually…

    I have used more letters in shorter time than you! If I can carry on, so can you!

I'd love to hear what you think!

