Y is for Yan

DallasHi Yan,

Thanks for spending your afternoon with me. It was a beautiful day for walking Dallas Road and for sitting on the beach in the sunshine.

Dallas BeachI was interested to hear about your work, and your kids, about your family and your upbringing. I had no idea that a person could make a living, as your brother does, selling in a niche market on the Internet. It was also illuminating to listen to your theories on parenting and to hear your detailed explanation of how game theory applies to divorce. I have a better sense of your history in that you shared with me about your ex-wife and your marriage and your divorce.  And your stories of traveling through Europe and Africa were entertaining.

It feels like I learned a tremendous amount about you in our afternoon together.

Perhaps if we do this again, I’ll tell you a little about me.

All the best,

Sally

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Y is for Yan

  1. El Guapo says:

    And yet, even though it closes with a “hope we do it again”, it doesn’t sound like it was a lot of fun.

  2. amb says:

    Agreeing with El Guapo – I wasn’t sensing any sparks with Yan, based on this post. And not just sparks – you deserve that tummy rush and electric tingle that comes when *that person* casually brushes your hand as you’re out walking together. You really, really do. 🙂

  3. Seb says:

    I’d like to know about game theory and divorce…

    • It was actually a pretty interesting idea. I’m going to get it all wrong, but Yan talked about removing the win/lose power struggles that can come with divorce, especially when children are involved. The greater each party’s sense that things are equal, the less conflict. I think. 🙂

  4. words4jp says:

    i give you a lot of kudos for dating. the thought of it makes me ill. 🙂 i know it is said “Never Say Never”, but right now all i feel is never!

  5. Zing with class. I like it.

  6. The Hook says:

    Good luck with Yan.
    He sounds like a fixer-upper.
    Or a mental patient.

    • Ha! He’s probably quite a lovely guy who maybe gets all nervous and can’t stop talking on a date… Or just a fixer upper 🙂 Thanks so much for dropping by. I loved your recent post on “Things You Should Never Say When Checking Into a Hotel.” Truth really is stranger than fiction!

  7. hmmm a good looking fascinating guy who can’t stop talking about himself… yeah, no thanks..

  8. Grace says:

    so funny – and true! I met more than my share of Yan’s

  9. tedstrutz says:

    I don’t care about Yan, but the beach you picture is beautiful. It looks just like it was taken on my island. So ditch Yan and come look for sand dollars on San Juan Island… oh wait, we don’t have any.

I'd love to hear what you think!

