Meeting a Man Who Can Dance

So I’m putting off posting right now, because really, the post I need to write is Z is for Zak. I’ve dated my way right to the end of the alphabet. And I’m still single. And in typical Sally fashion, I’m avoiding facing that fact. If I don’t write about it, it hasn’t happened. Right? (Indulge me. Just for today).

I’d feel so much better if I had a new plan; it just never occurred to me when I started playing the Alphabet Dating Game that I’d actually make it to Zak. Or Zeus. Or Zeb. According to the wise folks at Plenty of Fish, it takes an average of 7 dates to find someone. Clearly, they haven’t factored my dating patterns into their calculations.

I’ve been thinking about new dating approaches. I’ve considered having theme months. In May, for example, I might only date men under 50 who list motorcycles and dancing as interests. Or I might date only by astrological sign. Apparently Cancer and Scorpio men are perfect for me. Taurus and Capricorn men are nearly perfect. At least it would give me a clear focus.

But maybe it’s dangerous to go down that road. Maybe in playing the Alphabet Dating Game, I created a self-fulfilling prophecy. The minute I wrote A is for Adam, I ensured that I’d still be writing about dating more than a year later. And that I’d be putting off writing a post titled Z is for Zak. It’s been my experience that the Universe provides exactly what I ask for. It’s just that usually I don’t realize until it’s too late that I’ve put in a request.

Now that I think about it, maybe I can use that self-fulfilling concept to my benefit. Maybe I can get the Universe working on my behalf.

Do you think it’s too late for me to become a trophy wife?

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in The Alphabet of Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Meeting a Man Who Can Dance

  1. words4jp says:

    Who invented the phrase trophy wife? Most probably a man. They see women as trophies and conquests. Why can’t if be a man wanting to be everything for a women??

  2. Diane C says:

    I think time isn’t the issue. I think the true issue is that you have too much in the way of brains to settle for being a ‘trophy wife’. You would be bored out of your mind!

  3. Ned's Blog says:

    Sometimes it takes going through both the lower and upper case of the alphabet to find the letter you’ve been looking for. It’s worth the wait 😉 Oh, and as for the trophy wife thing? Don’t ever settle for that. The last thing anyone wants is to be put on the shelf and only handled when it’s time for showing off or dusting.

  4. El Guapo says:

    Ha! From what I’ve read from you, you’d be a trophy for any man who could win you.
    And any man who won you wouldn’t treat you as a trophy wife for even a moment.

    (And since I’m a guy,I have to ask: Any chance of you dating women and writing about that?)
    (Just kidding!)
    (Maybe.) 😀

  5. I like your theme idea, be extra creative so you don’t miss out on any possibilities. By the way i love that card!

    • Yes, it’s important to keep one’s options open! The card is from Curly Girl Designs. I treasure it as it came from a friend after my divorce and contains the loveliest message inside. It reminds me always to approach things with grace.

  6. maybe do the alphabet on all the things your doing for you..A is for Appreciation… and don’t think about z or dates… it’ll happen.. 🙂

  7. Please do not date men based on signs. I hope that was sarcasm…

  8. Marianne says:

    Love the card, Sally.

    As long as you have fun, that’s all that matters 🙂

  9. Like I’ve said often, if all else fails, remain out of control and see what develops! 🙂

    • It’s never crossed my mid to adopt this as my dating philosophy, but it just might work, Baz! How is your recovery coming along?

      • Yeah, not sure how it would work as a dating strategy, could be fun to fund out mind you…!

        Recovery is okay, in principle, however they detected some blood clotting in the veins of my leg yesterday…so being treated for that !

I'd love to hear what you think!

