Z is for Zak

Hi Zak,

Just wanted to check in with you. My sense is that we might have taken things as far together as they’re meant to go. I wonder what you’re thinking?

Hope you’re out enjoying the sunshine today!

Sally

***

Hi Sally,

I enjoyed meeting you and getting to know you a bit better. I think you know what you want and if your senses are telling you that things have gone as far as they’re meant to go, then they probably have.

Good luck out there, Sally.

Take care,

Zak

***

Zak,

You are a true gentleman. I have really enjoyed spending time with you and getting to know you. I’ve never dated a man in uniform before. It’s been fun to talk about my gun-toting accountant! I’m going to miss your light heart and your great sense of humour. And your ribs. I am really going to miss those delicious ribs.

I hope that just around the next corner is a girl who is “perfect for you.” May she love golf. May she love rock and roll. May she love feeding the ducks.

And may she appreciate, as much as I did, a man with enough self confidence to cook a woman Shake n’ Bake chicken!

Warmest wishes to you, Zak.

Sally

20130504-193852.jpg

About Sally

Seeking dark coffee and milk chocolate. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us. Learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Z is for Zak

  1. kingmidget says:

    Shake ‘n’ Bake Chicken? You know, there’s an incredible story in all of this. Not sure what that story is, but it’s there.
    Now, if he had made Hamburger Helper …

  2. kp says:

    Dear Sally….I think you are pretty brave to go on so many dates in one year or so. Getting to know new people is terrifying to me and to many people I think. I felt sad reading this one; wondering if you are feeling discouraged. I’ve had several thoughts; the romantic in me believes that we meet people when we least expect in the midst of our busy lives. I also have a theory that it takes three years to really recover from a long-term relationship. I experienced that once many years ago myself and have witnessed It several time with friends, and recently, with my sister. She left her partner of 20 years three years ago. She has had many adventures since then, dated a number of men, but it was only in the last few months that she began seeing a man who she has become very close to. She looks happy for the first time in many years!!! There is no doubt in my mind that you, with your wonderful view of life, will find the partner you are looking for. I just think it may take some time. Kim

    • Hi Kim,

      Thank you for your thoughtful words. It’s funny, but I’m not feeling discouraged. I do believe I’ll find someone and all of this is good learning. I actually don’t mind meeting new people, so the many coffee dates are interesting to me, and, without placing too much expectation on the meeting, I always go with an open mind. Perhaps this is a guy who would work for me.

      I think I definitely started dating too soon after my relationship with Griff ended. Though we were together less than three years, it was passionate and emotionally intense. He loved me well and was a hard man to get over.

      That being said, I’ve been feeling ready for someone new probably since September… And he is headed in my direction. I’m sure of it…

      Enjoy your Sunday!

      Sally

  3. Shake n Bake chicken…is that a backhander? You’re so appreciative of everyone – it’s a lovely quality.

    • I actually thought the Shake and Bake was endearing. I’ve been out with a few seriously talented cooks, and have become accustomed to some very good home cooked fare. I loved it that Zak, in a sweet way, didn’t feel the need to impress. (He also served boxed wine!)

  4. What ever happened to D is for Dan

  5. I can’t believe we’re at the end of the alphabet. Sigh. But on to new beginnings! “A” is for abundance. Also, there IS someone for everyone; if I lived up there, I’d be demanding Zak’s number: I’m a huge foodie (some say snob), but in my family Shake-n-Bake was my fave–so much so that we just called it Favorite Chicken. Just made it last week. : )

I'd love to hear what you think!

