On Appreciation

fernIt’s Saturday morning and I’m curled up in bed writing. I’m surrounded by plump pillows and blanketed by crisp white sheets and a heavy duvet. It’s raining this morning, just a fine mist, but the rain makes my bedroom feel that much cozier.

Outside the birds are still singing and the woods are green and lush. I feel a deep sense of calm this morning, a profound appreciation for the abundance in my life.

20130525-141743.jpgWhen I stop for a moment to appreciate the beauty in my life, I find it all around me: in my peaceful home, in my wild, natural back garden, green with fern and cedar; in my rural neighbourhood, home to parks and walking trails, farmland, forest, and beaches. When I stop for a moment, I am awed by the beauty of this place I call home.

When I stop to appreciate, I see how rich my life is in connection and community. My boys and I are surrounded by friends and family who love and support us, by friends and acquaintances who are happy to help out, by a community that is safe welcoming. Many of my closest friends have been part of my life now for close to 25 years; I hold them close. I know that I am a woman well loved.

It’s easy for me to race through life, to forget to pause and breathe in the beauty around me. It’s easy for me to focus on the floors that need washing, the laundry that needs folding, the lawn that needs mowing, the never-ending tyranny of “To Do.”

But when I actually pause, when I stop to appreciate, I see how rich my life is, and how truly fortunate I am.

appreciation1

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to On Appreciation

  1. susielindau says:

    Our spring came so late this year, that I have never appreciated my gardens more. Most of our trees got nipped and they are not flowering ,but I appreciate all of it!
    Beautiful family photo!

  2. susielindau says:

    That= but 🙂 oopsy!

  3. Marianne says:

    We should all take time to be grateful for what we have, rather than focus on what we haven’t.

    Have a great weekend, Sally 🙂

  4. We’re extremely lucky to have so much stuff to appreciate! It’s also very nice in the financial sense.

    • Yes, it’s true. And though I am more appreciative of the non-material aspects of my life, it’s only because I don’t really have to worry about making ends meet that I have the luxury to focus on a sunset or a roadside flower stand. We are extremely fortunate.

  5. This post is like a soothing balm. Ahh. But I still appreciate avocados too.

  6. You do live in a beautiful place! And one of my favourite things is sitting in bed writing on a rainy day… thanks for the calming reminder of the things that matter.

  7. Kavita Joshi says:

    this is so nice of you to take some time and appreciate what you have got ..not many people do realize this…but if we do then we would be so much more grateful for things that we have been given in life and so much more happy 🙂 God bless you dear!

I'd love to hear what you think!

