On Adventure

Adventure1 “Adventure is worthwhile in itself.” – Amelia Earhart

I’m a girl who takes her holidays seriously. Even if it’s just a quick getaway, I want it to count. I want it to be memorable and to feed my adventurous soul. An adventure doesn’t have to be big (though I’m certainly not opposed to a sailing holiday in Greece or an African safari). It has to give me a sense of novelty and a sense of getting away. And if it gets me a little outside my comfort zone, all the better.

I remember hearing somewhere that those people who incorporate new and different experiences into their lives create “memory hooks,” and as they get older, they have a much stronger sense of having lived a rich and interesting life. Though the day to day, the routine, and the predictable can be pleasant and comfortable, those everyday experiences eventually run together in our memory. What stands out, what leaves us feeling as though we’ve had a long life, and a life well lived, are the adventures.

Adventure2

And so now, with June upon us, it’s time for me to think about some summer adventure. Last year was delicious: sailing in the Gulf Islands, kayaking in the Broken Group and camping on Hornby Island. It was a summer of sunshine and sunsets and salty, ocean air. I’ve got some very good memory hooks from my experiences last summer.

And what about this summer?  We have a little getaway planned for Saltspring Island, a place I’ve visited many times. But there are new bed and breakfasts to stay in, new restaurants to try, wineries and cheese factories and parks to explore. It will be a perfect little adventure. Later in the summer, there will be camping with the kids and day trips exploring the beaches and trails surrounding Victoria. And in early August, my sister and I are planning some kayaking in Johnstone Strait. Pods of orcas congregate in that area every summer because of the rubbing beaches at Robson Bight. Oftentimes, the whales will swim very close to the kayakers. That ought to shake me out of my comfort zone!

Adventure3

As summer approaches, I want to be mindful about planning adventures big and small, about having experiences that will feed my adventurous soul, and about creating a few more powerful memory hooks to add to my sense that I am living a delicious life.

****

What adventures have you got planned for this summer?

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to On Adventure

  1. Good for you!
    We have so many wonderful places to explore here on the Wet Coast.

    • And the beauty of this spring has been all the sunshine. It’s hardly been wet at all. We’re not even having our usual “June-uary”! I hope you have some adventures planned over there on the mainland!

  2. Seb says:

    I used to love taking off and getting lost. I spent a wonderful summer in college wandering through the south of France, Basque Country, Northern Italy and Morrocco with next to no money – sleeping in fields, getting ridiculously drunk, not speaking the language and trusting in the kindness of strangers. I wandered through Australia, The Gironde and South Africa after my divorce. In 2011, I got lost in Garcia Lorca Country and on nude beaches in Portugal. I went to Brazil to retrace my father’s steps in 2010 and have gotten lost in Mexico too many times to mention (but Mexico is too hairy for me nowadays). There’s a lot to be said for getting lost.

    • You truly have an adventurous soul! I agree that there is something to be said in getting lost, and in losing ourselves in the experience of being “the other.” And I think that travel and adventure are potent ways to find ourselves too. Where to next?

  3. i love this! i definitely need to plan myself a little adventure!

  4. amb says:

    Your trip plans sound fabulous! I can’t wait to see all of the pictures – especially of the kayaking. Those whales sound like they would be something to see!

    On another note, I’ve started a new routine on my blog where I feature a quote every Friday (http://wp.me/P2myYW-XE) and I just LOVE that Amelia Earhart quote you opened your post with! Do you mind if I feature it one week?

    • I’m actually quite terrified about the whales, but I want to push myself. My sister has done the trip before, so she’ll be a good guide.

      And of course you can use the quote! I love your idea for featuring quotes each week. (My favourite is from Mary Oliver: “Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”)

  5. karenflello says:

    I always love hearing of your adventures – and have even enjoyed creating some of those “memory hooks” with you! Looking forward to hearing (and sharing) more this summer. Thank you for reminding me of the joy and necessity of adventure.

    • Thank you! Yes, we have made some very good memories together, most recently in New Orleans! After the year you’ve had- Hawaii, NO, New York, Europe – I think you’ve got the adventure thing figured out!

  6. Pingback: WoW Fridays: Mary Oliver | words become superfluous

  7. El Guapo says:

    Too many to list!
    For now, I’d be happy with enough time for a picnic, though I’m going to see if I can rent a stand-up paddleboard for the summer and go out a couple of evenings a week.

    Your adventures sound like a lot of fun!

    • A picnic! You see that’s a perfect little adventure, especially with a cool location and something new to try food or drink wise. I have to admit that paddle boarding mystifies me, but based on the number of people I see trying it, it must be fun! Nice to see you, El Guap!

  8. kingmidget says:

    Sounds like a truly incredible summer ahead for you. Enjoy it.

    • Oh my goodness! How did I miss your comment? I’ve been a very bad blogger the last couple of weeks…

      • kingmidget says:

        And I don’t think I ever saw your reply. 😉 Anyway, I’m now just starting my own incredible summer vacation. Six days at Fort Bragg, CA. Three days of a writing workshop, followed by a couple of days for myself, doing nothing other than enjoying the incredible environment. Hope your summer is going well. I miss your blogging.

      • It sounds like you have an amazing vacation planned! Those two little words- Writing Workshop- stir my soul. It’s time in my life to get to another one…
        And thank you. I’m missing my blogging too, and especially my blogging friends. I’ve really needed a break, but I think that I’m nearly ready to return.
        Have a wonderful holiday!

  9. Love the idea of memory hooks – I think there’s truth in that! Enjoy your delicious sounding adventures – I’ve had mine… we’re in hibernation for the winter now.

  10. Chris Edgar says:

    Glad to see you are enjoying your adventure. My adventure this summer is going to be to get more deeply involved in music, and write and produce singles that others will sing on (in addition to working on my musical).

  11. Marianne says:

    Summer for me is spent at home – never far from the pool or the beach – and is when we usually have our visitors arrive. Well, who wouldn’t want to visit the Costa del Sol in the summer?

    So for me, memory hooks (other than very pleasant family/friend ones) happen during our winter-time, when we often take-off to the southern hemisphere, housesitting our way around Australia and New Zealand – or backpacking around SE Asia.

    I believe your concept of memory hooks to be absolutely true, Sally. The mundane, day-to-day things blend into one, but the vivid memories are of “special” things we have done over our lives.

    I hope you have a wonderful summer.

  12. You look so happy and relaxed at the beach. This spring Ms M and me are heading to Europe, so that ought to be fun – if we survive!

I'd love to hear what you think!

