Gone Kayaking

Kayak

Gone Kayaking

Just as I feel ready to return to blogging, I’m heading off on a five-day kayaking trip. If you’re looking for me, I’ll be paddling the calm waters of Johnstone Strait. I’ll be looking for the orcas that frequent the area, close as it is to the rubbing beaches of Robson Bight. If they swim close by, as they often do, I’ll be tapping (frantically!) on my kayak so that they’ll know where I am. I’m told there are humpback whales in the area this year too, so I’ll be keeping an eye out for them as well. Paddling with whales, I’ll definitely be outside my comfort zone. But it’s a place I need to be from time to time.

I’ll be paddling this year with my sister, who has kayaked in this area a number of times. This is the sister who for fun competes in triathlons and in an event called MOMAR. The Mind Over Mountain Adventure Race is an event in which one kayaks, mountain bikes and runs trails. It makes me tired just to think about it! Anyway, I’ll be with my sister, and I hope I can keep up!

I’ll be out kayaking. I’ll be breathing in the briny scent of sea air, floating with the rhythms of the waves, feeling the cool ocean breeze against my skin. I’ll be out of my comfort zone and absolutely in my element.

See you in a week or so!

***

What do you do to get outside your comfort zone?

 

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Gone Kayaking

  1. That sounds like a great adventure. Being in such a little vessel with whales nearby will test the nerves. For me hitch hiking put me out of my comfort zone.

  2. kingmidget says:

    Sounds so incredible. I’m jealous. Out of my comfort zone? That’s the thing I need to do more of. There’s a place here in Fort Bragg that rents kayaks. I’ve thought of renting one. Maybe you’ve provided me with the inspiration to do it.

  3. I’m looking forward to reading about your adventure, Sally. Bon Voyage.

  4. El Guapo says:

    Zoiks! That sounds like a great week!
    We went stand up paddleboarding in the Hudson a few days ago. It was a great afternoon.
    (Now I’m looking for a paddleboard to buy.)

    See you when you get back.

  5. coastalmom says:

    Hope you take Pics! I am off on one as well just when I found this title! Can’t wait to get to read some of your archives and meet you when you are back! Have fun!

  6. kp says:

    Wow…sounds wonderful! I have to say that kayaking near Robson Byte with Killer Whales is dream of mine and one that would definitely take me outside of my comfort zone. Have a wonderful time….I look forward to your story and your photos!! Kim

    • Hi Kim, I’m back and can hardly wait to start blogging about this trip! It was a once in a lifetime kind of experience. I hope you get out here to see the area and to, of course, the wildlife! (And when you come, you’ll have to come and visit me too.)

  7. sounds so much fun!! have a great trip!!

  8. Kavita Joshi says:

    reminds me of Byron Bay and those days in Nepal when we were doing River kayaking… I have written about Kayaking in both places if you are interested:

    1. http://talkingexperience.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/fabulous-day-at-byron-bay-kayaking-flying-and-some-sight-seeing/
    2. http://talkingexperience.wordpress.com/2013/06/17/kayaking-in-nepal-some-serious-fun/

  9. turtlegrl says:

    Oh so lucky! I saw orcas when we took a cruise out of the San Juans and I will never forget it. I am a marine biologist and would live to kayak with them! Take pics and enjoy!!!

  10. Pingback: Kayaking at Howard Prairie Lake in Oregon, an adventurous treat for the whole family. | owFotoGrafik

  11. Nice! Never been that far north, not in a kayak anyway 😉 Ever done any kayaking on the west side of the island? It’s wild!

I'd love to hear what you think!

