Space to Breathe

LessonsLearned

Introspection

I didn’t mean to take a two month break from blogging. It just crept up on me. June was a really crazy month. There were end-of-year barbecues and dance recitals and soccer tournaments for the boys; for me there were projects to finish up, projects to start before summer, year-end parties, and retirements. It was a busy time. One week away from my blog became two weeks, and two weeks somehow became four.

Time to think

Time to think

But at some point I realized that it wasn’t just because I was busy that I wasn’t attending to my blog.

I realized that I needed a break.

I needed to go underground for a while. Blogging for me is a very public act. It requires me to be out there in the world in a way that I normally enjoy. But I was in a more introspective space, a space where I needed to look inward rather than out. I needed time to think and journal and stare off into the distance; I needed space to breathe.

At first I felt guilty. I worried about neglecting my writing; I worried about what it meant that I was neglecting my writing. Eventually, though, I realized that I just needed the time away. I had to give myself permission to step away from the computer, to absent myself from the blogging community, to live my life for a while in a completely private space.

Breathing Space

Breathing Space

There is value in taking a break from our writing, in giving ourselves permission to step away for a time and do other things. There is value in turning our thoughts and energies away from our blogs and toward other important things in our lives.

There is value sometimes in giving ourselves the space to breathe.

 

How about you? How do you find “space to breathe”? Can you happily walk away from your blogging from time to time?

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Space to Breathe

  1. kingmidget says:

    Blogging actually is my space to breathe these days. That said, I have slowed down. I’ve given myself permission to stop blogging each and every day. It’s more like four or five days a week these days. I’d like to reduce it even further.

    • Blogging can be such a great outlet and I’m glad it’s providing that space for you at the moment. I struggle with the fact that something that I do for pleasure can sometimes begin to feel like an obligation. I think the break was good for me in that regard. I’ll be over to visit your blog and catch up later today!

      • kingmidget says:

        Thanks for the visit. And your experience is one that definitely prompts me to continue to try to scale back.

  2. El Guapo says:

    Good for you on taking the break you didn’t even realize you needed.

    When it gets too much for me, I usually just stop reading for a day or two, though I’ve also taken a week here and there from time to time. Sometimes, I just need to not be online.
    Great to see you, and glad you’re having a good time!

    • It’s good to be back, El Guap, and nice to see you here! I’d taken a complete break and hadn’t even been reading. I think I needed to be completely offline. But I’ve been wondering about my friends in the blogging world. I wondered whether you had been able to get back to your blogging after your very busy spring… It’s time now to get back out there and investigate!

  3. Glad to see you back! I read other writers until I reach a point where I think…okay…they’re having fun…I have to get back to the fun )

  4. karenflello says:

    I certainly understand your worrying about “what it meant”, but I love that you gave yourself permission for it to just be what it was, not to give the break more meaning than it really has. And I am glad you are ready to be back, because that is a gift to us. πŸ™‚

  5. Jean says:

    Oh sure, I can walk away from blogging….especially when I know I have a few blog posts lined up, post-dated. Handy for capturing creative times to cover off more difficult times in life when it’s hard to want to blog when life gets in the way.

    So preferably nice if I have at least 1 post dated blog post….about 1-2 months in advance. I don’t blog often anyway.

  6. kp says:

    Hi…for me, it is the opposite. I blog when I am introspective. I blog to get in touch with myself; to explore my feelings. I have not been blogging as much over the last few months but it is more that I have been giving myself a break from introspection; being in the world; present in the moment; spending time in my garden, with my hubby and kids. That has been a nice break!! Kim

  7. Marianne says:

    It’s still lovely to have you back, Sally – however often you decide to post πŸ™‚

  8. Kavita Joshi says:

    wonderful pics and the title you chose for it…I understand how I feel and that’s where travelling helps me as well when I have no choice but to see new things and enjoy new place

  9. Hey Sally, noticed your absence, but assumed you were off enjoying your summer with the kids, which is as it should be. From catching up on your posts, I can see it was well worth the break! I’ve been having my own version of time out, which is really a reduction in frequency of posting, and therefore, reading. It’s troubled me a bit, but it’s important for us to do what is nourishing… So, hope you feel revived and free of guilt!

    • Guilty about not visiting other sites… guilty about not responding to comments… guilty about not posting. Sigh. The only thing for it is to re-engage! I think your idea of reducing frequency is a very sane and sensible one.

      • Banish the guilt! The one’s who matter will and do understand… (says I, ever so humbly). But seriously, we all have to find the balance that works for us – fortnightly has done wonders for me.

I'd love to hear what you think!

