The Happiest Moments

20150117-091222.jpg

The sky yesterday morning was stunning, the billowing clouds stained a hundred shades of rose and violet, and gleaming with the first gold of sunrise. It was so arresting that I pulled over to drink in the beauty.

Normally I’m on auto-pilot on my drive to work and though I might admire the sunrise or the patterns of clouds or a glimpse of the Olympic Mountains, I keep driving.

Yesterday morning, though, I took another, far prettier route to work, driving first alongside the ocean and then alongside the farmlands of the Saanich Peninsula. As the sun rose, I watched early morning mist rise from the fields and weave its way among the trees. I was feeling positively blissful by the time I arrived at work.

I read the other day about mindfully collecting and recording the happiest moments every day. (I think Elizabeth Gilbert gets credit for this practice…) Yesterday’s sunrise was definitely one of my happy moments.

What have been the happiest moments for you in the past few days?

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Happiest Moments

  1. smilecalm says:

    this cool, damp morning
    is a happy moment πŸ™‚

  2. kingmidget says:

    Surviving to the weekend. πŸ˜‰ And your picture of the sunrise. It’s beautiful.

  3. El Guapo says:

    Taking a mental health day off, and just lying around all day.

I'd love to hear what you think!

