The Art of Living

reflections 

I’m lying in a darkened room, my body encased in a large cedar steam chest; herb-scented steam drifts from the chest, and I close my eyes and inhale deeply. I don’t think I’ve ever been so relaxed in my entire life. I am at Sapphire Day Spa, an Ayurvedic sanctuary in Victoria. Will has surprised me with an amazing treatment that includes a traditional Ayurvedic Abhyanga massage, an herbal steam, and an exfoliation treatment. By the time the treatment draws to a close, I feel like a goddess; my body feels utterly sacred.

whole_foodsFor years I’ve been drawn to Ayurveda, an ancient Indian system for well being. Translated loosely, the word Ayurveda means, “the science of living.”   I prefer, though, the translation that Sapphire Spa suggests: “the art of living.” Over the past few months I’ve begun to investigate this natural and holistic system for health and the more I learn, the more intrigued I become.

What I like the most about Ayurveda is that it is a system designed to nourish mind, body and spirit. It emphasizes eating whole foods in season and using herbs and spices for maintaining good health;  it encourages a deep connection with nature and the natural cycles of life; it promotes the practice of meditation and yoga, and the art of slowing down.  I’m simplifying, of course; in fact, I’m barely skating over the surface. But I’m drawn to these basic premises, to the deep way they address self-care. Ayurveda  speaks to me.

winter_beachAnd I find attractive the suggestion I’ve read again and again: start from where you are and just make a few changes.  I love the idea of starting small, of keeping things simple. And so at this point, I’m just being far more mindful about what I eat and how I relax. Every day. Meditating helps. So does yoga. So does the spice- infused ginger tea that Will brews in enormous quantities. And I’m making sure I get out for daily walks in the woods or by the ocean.

Now I just have to figure out how to get back for another of those delicious Ayurvedic spa treatments!

 

 

 

 

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Art of Living

  1. karenflello says:

    The spa experience sounds heavenly. It seems that there is tremendous wisdom in the Ayurveda philosophy; I think there is great wisdom in your notion of small steps and starting from where you are, as well. A perfect connection there. 🙂

  2. kingmidget says:

    This fits right into the direction I’m trying to head in. time to go to Google and type in Ayurveda.

  3. Jerry says:

    My word this blog has taken a very mindful turn!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

