Thirty Days of “Om”

tulipI’ve been meditating for a month now, just ten minutes every morning as soon as I wake. It’s a practice I’ve experimented with from time to time, but this is the first time I’ve made a commitment, however small, to practicing regularly. I’d like to tell you that after my thirty-day meditation challenge, I am a changed woman, a woman who exudes calm and purpose, who floats unruffled through her days, who epitomizes “ethereal.”

But that wouldn’t be quite true.

After thirty days of meditating, I am still a woman who is disorganized, who perpetually runs late, who swears under her breath as she tries to find her phone in the morning. Ethereal, I suspect, will never be part of my repertoire.

But after thirty days, here’s what I am noticing: I am calmer. I’m more focused at work.

And I’m becoming aware of how busy my mind is. I can worry like nobody’s business. I can compose entire blog posts on my drive home from work. In a twenty-minute walk, I can leap randomly between thirty different topics: my kids, my thighs, the dog, the weather, the meaning of the word ethereal, that student who is making me crazy, my dad’s lasagna… You get the idea. At least now, though, I’m aware. And I’m learning how to calm my mind,  how to settle.

The other thing I’m learning these days is how shallow my breath tends to be. As I practice meditating, I am finally learning to breathe. (This, I suspect, is a good thing!)

I read recently about keystone habits, habits, like exercising, that have far-reaching effects in our lives. I am pretty sure that meditation might be a keystone habit for me.

I started meditating as a thirty-day challenge, but I’m going to continue with this practice daily. I can feel already how good it is for me. I can feel already how much calmer I am. I can feel already an ethereal aura settling around me as I search for my phone.

 

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thirty Days of “Om”

  1. susielindau says:

    That is so great! I should do that. With all the rehab I’m doing, it feels like my mind should be relaxed and focused. I think my knee is stealing my blood flow leaving very little for my brain. At least that’s my excuse. 🙂

  2. Nice post. I think that you mention both meditation and exercise as keystone habits. For me running or hiking without music is a kind of meditational (<= new word?) experience, the way that the breathing and focus come together allow for concentration that I struggle to find elsewhere. Lots of posts have been written on a trail run!

    • I love that you run without music and let your breath bring you to a higher level of concentration. I’m not a runner, but I compose regularly on hikes and walks! There is so much to appreciate in the outdoors that I don’t really understand why someone would want to block the sounds of nature with music. (Now the gym? Different story all together!) Thanks so much for dropping by, and good luck with the last part of the PLOD Challenge!

  3. Heartafire says:

    I haven’t meditated in some time…thank you for the inspiration.

  4. karenflello says:

    I am so pleased for you. It is wonderful that you are keeping to your commitment, and seeing the change in yourself. And the breathing part is so easy to miss if you don’t pay attention; I think you are providing some serious inspiration here!

  5. kp says:

    Good for you!! I have made, and broken, this commitment many times!! It is funny how hard it is to still our minds for 10 minutes!! Thanks for setting a good example, Kim

I'd love to hear what you think!

