Signs of Spring

spring spirea

The mild air, sea-damp and briny, washes over me as I head out into the woods. Above me, I hear the flutter and rustle of first birds, branches waving as a stellar jay shrieks and takes flight. Pale green leaves unfurl on delicate branches, and the first fragile blossoms of bridal veil spirea unfold, weighted by raindrops. Around me, I hear the ancient creak of a solitary frog, the layers and layers of variegated birdsong, the clear green notes of an early robin.

Spring , in all its promise, in all its rapture, is on its way.

I only need to slow down and pay attention.

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Signs of Spring

  1. El Guapo says:

    I would trade every snowflake we’re about to get for that vista.

    How about it! πŸ˜‰

    • I don’t know… I am a certified “Snow Wimp,” the sort of woman who rushes to the grocery to stock up for weeks whenever the word “snow” is uttered on a weather forecast, the sort of woman who gives West Coast drivers their reputation for not being able to drive in the snow… I’m not sure that your neighbours would appreciate the trade!

  2. The Hook says:

    “I only need to slow down and pay attention.”
    Don’t we all?
    Brilliant piece.

  3. Jerry says:

    It feels like a new beginning….I can emphasize with the pagans πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

