Blossoming

magnoliaWandering along a side street in Victoria today, I was entranced by these magnificent magnolia blossoms, a deep, vivid pink and nearly as big as dinner plates.  I’d headed out with camera in hand, intent on capturing the first cherry blossoms of the season; but it was the magnolias that demanded my attention today, magnolias in shades of white and palest pink and fuschia, their blooms unfolding from fuzzy pods, opening before the first leaves.

magnolia2Victoria is heavenly at this time of year, as the magnolia and forsythia bloom, and the first cherry blossoms appear. There is such beauty and such promise in early spring; and after a couple of hours meandering in the sunshine and photographing the first blossoms, I feel utterly elated, suffused with joy.

I’m out with my camera on a very deliberate mission: I have an afternoon all to myself, to enjoy the sunshine and do something creative. I’m giving myself permission just to play. This is my year for lavish self care. I’m eating well and meditating and practicing yoga; I’m allowing myself to explore my creativity in multiple ways, including writing and photography; and when the sun shines, I’m trying, whenever possible, to get outside and soak it up. 

And it feels amazing. As I focus on my health and well being, as I explore my creative impulses and let myself
play, I feel myself opening up; like the magnolias, I too am beginning to blossom.

magnolia3

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blossoming

  1. kp says:

    Beautiful photos…and good for you!!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

