Morning Pages: Reclaiming My Inner Artist

After years of meaning to read Julia Cameron’s The Artists Way, I finally picked it up this spring and began her 12 week Artist Recovery program.

It’s been a powerful experience. Cameron asserts that we are every one of us born to create and she provides a series of practices and exercises designed to help us reclaim our inner artists.

The two regular practices Cameron sees as critical are Morning Pages, three pages of longhand writing every morning upon waking, and weekly Artists Dates.

Though I’d used Morning Pages in the past, having read everything by Julia Cameron except The Artis’s Way, I was a little reluctant to start up again, afraid that the writing would conflict with my morning mediation practice. The first week I actually felt really protective of the meditation and found myself regarding the writing as a threat rather than the trusted friend it’s been most of my life.

By the second week, my reluctance had dissipated as I began to appreciate the writing again. And now, after a few weeks, the Morning Pages have become ass essential as breathing.

The Morning Pages are my place to clear my head, to reflect, dream, complain, plan… Whatever I need to get out of my head and down on the page.

Cameron describes the pages as a Western form of meditation. Combined with my 10 minute sitting meditation, I’m starting my days with a beautiful sense of clarity and calm. And that inner artist? She’s beginning to emerge.

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Morning Pages: Reclaiming My Inner Artist

  1. kingmidget says:

    In my newfangled life, where I wake up whether I want to or not, typically around 5:30 or 6:00, I read the newspaper, check my email and a few other on-line things, and then typically have 30-60 minutes to waste before I need to get dressed for work. It’s one of my daily frustrations that I tell myself every night before I go to bed that I am going to do something useful with that time — whether it is meditation, exercises on the floor including a little bit of yoga, or writing — but when I get up in the morning and finish those other things, every single morning I find myself curling up under a blanket, closing my eyes, and just vegging until it’s time to get ready for work. I guess that could be considered a form of meditation, but it’s not, really. Your post has provided me with new inspiration. A new kick in the pants. To try to make that little window of time more meaningful. Thank you.

    • Sally says:

      And how is it going??

      • kingmidget says:

        Pshaw … as usual. I’m working on some of what I call behavior modification issues. I have many longstanding habits I’ve spent years trying to break. The biggest one now is once and for all eliminating soda from my diet. I’m also eliminating beer. I’m running more and am trying to eat more healthy. So, I’m making progress on those things. But, that quiet few minutes I have in the in between time in the mornings. Still not quite there. Thanks for asking. A little prompting can help.

        How are you doing?

  2. Beautifully written! Well said 🙂

  3. Resonating with this piece in every way.

I'd love to hear what you think!

