Time With My Boy

  My eldest son has spent the past year in Ottawa, attending university and working as a page in parliament. It has been one of those, amazing, life-changing kind of years for him, the kind of year that sets one’s course in unexpected new directions. 

I couldn’t be happier for him. But Ottawa is a long way away and we haven’t seen each other since Christmas.

And so it’s lovely to have him home for a few days.

His short trip home coincides with the provincial rugby championships,, so he’s actually not home. We’re in Vancouver for the weekend, watching his brother play. 

But there’s lots of time for catching up, for hearing his entertaining stories about parliament, for troubleshooting with him about finances and courses and roommates, and for listening to his dreams. 

It is so lovely to have some time with my boy.

…………..

Where is the loveliness in your weekend?

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, The Loveliness Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time With My Boy

  1. kingmidget says:

    Both of my boys are about to leave for college. I’m looking forward to those days when they come to visit and we catch up on everything. It’s time for them to start taking those steps your son took in the past year. I wrote a post about this on Father’s Day.

    As for where the loveliness is for me this weekend … the peace and quiet that comes with my older son and my wife being out of town because they’re looking for a place for him to stay when he returns to college. Just for a few days, I just get to do my own thing. Whatever that is, without consideration of what others are doing. My younger son and I are adaptable and flexible with each other.

    • Sally says:

      It’s been great watching my boy head out into the world this past year. There’s much for you to look forward to as your boys do the same. And your weekend sounds perfect! (I’m spending mine with my husband, our boys, my mom, my ex-husband, his girlfriend… There won’t be a moment’s peace!)

  2. susielindau says:

    Fantastic! I was lucky to have both kids in state for college and yet my son could have been in Ottawa! He rarely called and was super busy. After graduation, my husband and I got into a routine of going to breakfast with him once a week. He moves to Denver in a few weeks. We’ll see if that becomes another Ottawa. I hope not!

    • Sally says:

      Ha!! I suspect that even if my guy had been in Victoria, he’d have been the busy type. That’s good for me to remember! And Denver sounds like a good place to visit 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

