Cape Scott Magic

The fog is so thick when we wake that we can’t see the ocean from our campsite on the beach. The air is heavy and damp, and fine droplets of mist form rivulets down the side of the tent. It’s hard to believe we’re in the midst of a heatwave and that when the fog burns away we’ll be seeking shelter from the sun.

But this morning it’s foggy as we head out along trails green and lush, across deserted stretches of white, sandy beach, through forests filled with old growth spruce and hemlock, cedar and Douglas fir.

Our destination this morning is the Cape Scott lighthouse, at the northern tip of Vancouver Island. We’re four days into a five day backpacking trip, and despite sore feet and blisters, I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be.


Its 25 years since I was out here last and the place is every bit as spectacular, every bit as wild and desolate as I remember it.


And this time, I’m here with my middle son, backpacking more than 50 km of trails over five days, just the two of us, out in the wilderness together.

 This is pure magic for me: the challenge of the hike, the wilderness, the wild majesty of the forest and ocean, and this precious time with my boy.

About Sally

Poet, seeker, author, mom. Celebrating the beauty and mystery that surrounds us and learning to trust in the journey.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, On Adventure, The Loveliness Project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cape Scott Magic

  1. kingmidget says:

    I went on my first backpacking trip last month. A very basic trip just to get my feet wet. I look forward to the opportunity to take a trip like you describe here. What an opportunity for both you and your son and the two of you together.

    • Sally says:

      Where did you go? Isn’t it the most amazing way to get away from it all

      • kingmidget says:

        Granite Lake — a little lake a couple of hours from home. It’s a beautiful spot. Hiked in and set up camp for two nights. Did a ten mile day hike.

        What I’d really like to do is a trek, backpacking to different locations each day for a week or so.

      • Sally says:

        It sounds lovely! I went to your site to see if you’d blogged about it, but I couldn’t find anything. (But you’re writing up a storm! Wow!)

        I’ve trekked before – The West Coast Trail in my twenties, but I prefer to hike in and then do day hikes. I’m too lazy to pack up and hike every day! Cape Scott gave us a little of both. We stayed two nights each in two places. Time to relax, day hike, etc…

      • kingmidget says:

        Go to kingmidgetramblings.wordpress.com and scroll through a few posts. It’s there. 😉

    • Sally says:

      Perhaps you’ll have the opportunity to get your boys out with you before they head off to school.

I'd love to hear what you think!

