Crafting Loveliness

  The summer breeze gently shakes the cedars, cools me as I rock slowly in the hammock and play with words. I’ve been writing out here practically every day, spending hours crafting sentences and scenes. Who knew that I could find inspiration in this space? 

This is the summer I finish the book I’ve been working on. I’ve made myself the promise. I have the time, and I’m following Julia Cameron’s advice just to “fill the form.” I’ve written on planes, in parking lots waiting for my son’s karate class to finish, at my dining room table, in bed. But I have to say that I’m liking the hammock! 

I’m filling the form.

Showing up. 

Every day. 

And making that commitment fills me at once with a sense of power and a sense of peace. There is power for me in the focus, in the routine, in the satisfaction of seeing the word count build day by day. And there is peace – and joy- in creating, in spending my days doing this thing that I love. This summer, hanging out in the hammock, I’m crafting loveliness.

About Sally

Collector of sand dollars. Adventurer. Writer. Walker of beaches. Seeker of truth and all things delicious in life.
This entry was posted in Living Deliciously, The Loveliness Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crafting Loveliness

  1. kingmidget says:

    Thumbs up to this. Absolutely thumbs up. I hope once you’re finished, you’ll be willing to share the results. Somehow. I’m envious that you have found this opportunity to focus on your writing. It is so incredibly cool when you can get to that place where you want to write regardless of the setting and are able to produce as well. Keep going.

    • Sally says:

      You have no idea how much your encouraging comments mean to me. Thanks so much for cheering me on! And I’d be delighted to share once I’m finished.

  2. Oh you lucky lucky girl! Something good is going to come of this amazing opportunity. I for one am looking forward to the results.

  3. Doug says:

    You are very blessed to be able to do this with power and peace. Congratulations on finding the flow. I am trying to finish my book this summer. I’m only managing 2 pages a day and it fills me with a feeling of anxiety and doom that I’ll never finish and even if I do, it is guaranteed to fail. I don’t really feel a sense of accomplishment. I feel like I’m one step closer to getting rid of this damn book. I’ve written about 420 pages and I want to kill off all the characters and end the world on a happy note.

    • Sally says:

      Wow, Doug! 420 pages! That’s impressive. And no wonder you’re struggling to finish up. (I understand the impulse to kill everybody off!) My book is much smaller in scope, so perhaps it’s easier for me just to keep plugging away. I’ve been reading about the writing process as I’ve been working on the book, and everyone seems to think that finishing a book is the hardest part – that’s when the gremlins really start to attack us. I’m trying not to think about whether anyone might like what I’ve written and trying to just write a bit every day. It’s the only way I can keep going.

      Good luck and let me know when you finish!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

